Day: August 15, 2021

Southwestern Athletic Conference Football News: Alabama State’s Gray selected CoSIDA Academic All-District for second consecutive year

MONTGOMERY, Ala.- Alabama State running Ezra Gray was named CoSIDA Academic All-District for the second consecutive year. The award recognizes the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances on the field and in the classroom. First-team Academic All-District honorees advance to the CoSIDA Academic All-America ballot. […]

Southwestern Athletic Conference Football News: Alcorn State’s President Thomas listed on 2022 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

NORFOLK, Va.– Alcorn State’s Dr. Dennis E. Thomas is listed on the players’ ballot for the 2022 class of the College Football Hall of Fame, which was released to voterS.As an offensive lineman at Alcorn State, Thomas was a two-time Pittsburgh Courier All-American (1972, 1973), and he […]

Southwestern Athletic Conference Football News: College Football Hall of Fame releases 2022 Ballot

IRVING, Texas – The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced the names on the 2022 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, including 78 players and seven coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 99 players and 33 coaches from […]

Mid-American Conference Football News: Eight Student-Athletes Represented on Wuerffel Trophy Watch List

FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla.  – The Wuerffel Trophy, College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service, today announced its watch list of 93 players from college football’s Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback from the University of Florida, Danny Wuerffel, the Wuerffel Trophy […]

Mid-American Conference Football News: Hall, Ratkovich and Pimpleton Named to Paul Hornung Watch List

Louisville, Ky. — The Louisville Sports Commission today named 57 multi-talented college football players to the 2021 Watch List for the Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse. The Paul Hornung Award, now in its 12th season, is given annually to the most versatile player in […]

Mid-American Conference Football News: Golden Flashes QB Dustin Crum Named To Walter Camp Watch List

KENT, OHIO – Kent State quarterback Dustin Crum has been named to the 35-member watch list for the Walter Camp Award. Walter Camp is considered “The Father of American football”. He first selected an All-America team in 1889. The Walter Camp Foundation was founded in 1967 and honors Camp […]

Mid-American Conference Football News: Buffalo Bulls LB Kadofi Wright Named to Lombardi Award Watch List

HOUSTON – University at Buffalo linebacker Kadofi Wright has been named to the Lombardi Award Preseason Watch List. The Rotary Lombardi Award goes annually to the college football offensive or defensive lineman, who in addition to outstanding performance and ability, best exemplifies the character and discipline of NFL Hall […]

Mid-American Conference Football News: Kent State’s Dustin Crum, Ball State’s Drew Plitt and Western Michigan’s Kaleb Eleby named to Manning Award Watch List.

NEW ORLEANS, La. — Kent State’s Dustin Crum, Ball State’s Drew Plitt and Western Michigan’s Kaleb Eleby have been named to the prestigious Manning Award Watch List for the 2021 season. The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, was created to honor the college football […]

Columbus Crew News: Midfielder Lucas Zelarayan named among MLS, LIGA MX stars to compete in 2021 MLS All-Star Skills Challenge presented by AT&T 5G on Aug. 24 in Los Angeles

NEW YORK / MEXICO CITY (Aug. 12, 2021) – With technical supremacy and bragging rights on the line, Major League Soccer and LIGA MX today announced their elite selections of eight players each who will compete head-to-head in five events during the 2021 MLS All-Star Skills Challenge […]

Columbus Crew Match Notes at Chicago Fire FC

COLUMBUSCREW2021 REGULAR SEASON:(6-6-6, 24 pts.) CHICAGOFIRE FC2021 REGULAR SEASON:(4-9-5, 17 pts.) Date: Sunday, August 15Match Time: 6:00 p.m. ETKickoff: 6:08 p.m. ETLocation: Soldier Field (Chicago, IL)Local TV: Bally Sports Ohio Neil Sika (play-by-play) Jordan Angeli (analyst)Brett Hiltbrand (sideline)97.1 The Fan [Radio]: Chris Doran (play-by-play) Spanish […]

NASCAR Xfinity Series News: IMS fan all his life, Austin Cindric fulfills dream by winning Pennzoil 150 at The Brickyard

INDIANAPOLIS – It was essentially a storybook ending for Austin Cindric Saturday afternoon in the Pennzoil 150 at the Brickyard and the 22-year old with Hoosier roots appropriately celebrated his first win at the renowned Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course by singing “Back Home Again […]