Dayton Flyers Basketball News: DaRon Holmes II Named To USBWA Oscar Robertson Trophy & All-America Watch Lists

By Chris Garvin

DaRon Holmes Dayton center laying ball up (photo by Erik Shelkun, courtesy Dayton Media Relations)



Holmes One Of 40 Top Players Named To Watch Lists




INDIANAPOLIS – University of Dayton junior forward DaRon Holmes II has been named to the U.S. Basketball Writers’ Oscar Robertson Trophy and All-America Watch Lists.  Members of the USBWA’s board of directors chose the 40 players who will be considered as contenders for the National Player of the Year.

These players for the Oscar Robertson Trophy and All-America consideration will be placed on the association’s annual awards ballot, which will be distributed to members today. Members will have until Sunday, March 10 to vote for all of the honors that are based on regular-season performance. Write-ins will be accepted on the ballot as well.

Holmes joins Armando Bacot of North Carolina, Keion Brooks of Washington, Johni Broom of Auburn, Tommy Bruner of Denver, Boo Buie of Northwestern, Devin Carter of Providence, L.J. Cryer of Houston, Johnell Davis of Florida Atlantic, RJ Davis of North Carolina, Tucker DeVries of Drake, Hunter Dickinson of Kansas, Zach Edey of Purdue, Terrence Edwards, Jr. of James Madison, Kyle Filipowski of Duke, PJ Hall of Clemson, Blake Hinson of Pitt, Xavier Johnson of Southern Illinois, David Jones of Memphis, Jordan King of Richmond, Dalton Knecht of Tennessee, Tyler Kolek of Marquette, Jaedon LeDee of San Diego State, Caleb Love of Arizona, Kevin McCullar, Jr. of Kansas, Tristen Newton of UConn, Great Ososbor of Utah State, Antonio Reeves of Kentucky, Kadary Richmond of Seton Hall, Hunter Sallis of Wake Forest, Baylor Scheierman of Creighton, Terrence Shannon of Illinois, Jamal Shead of Houston, KJ Simpson of Colorado, Braden Smith of Purdue, Isaiah Stevens of Colorado State, Tyler Thomas Hofstra and Vonterius Woolbright of Western Carolina.

He is also on the Naismith College Player of the Year Midseason Team and the Wooden Award Late Season Top 20 List, and has been named the Atlantic 10 Player of the Wee five  times.  He was on the USBWA Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week five-man team for the week ending Jan. 21.  He was also named the National Player of the Week by NCAA March Madness on Jan. 15, and by College Sports Insider’s Lute Olson Award on Feb. 5

The 6-10 forward is also a finalist for the second consecutive season for the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame’s Karl Malone Award, which goes to the top power forward in college basketball.

Holmes leads the A-10 in scoring (20.2) and UD in rebounding (7.9).  He is the only player in the league’s top seven in scoring, rebounding, FG%, and blocked shots.
Holmes and Edey are the only players in D-I who has more than 50 blocks, 50 dunks and 50 assists.  Holmes has 56, 57 and 66 respectively.   Holmes also has 26 threes and is shooting .377 (26-69) from deep.  He had just seven threes in his first two years at UD.