Dayton Flyers Basketball News: Anthony Grant Named To Werner Ladder Naismith National Coach Of The Year Late-Season Watch List

By Chris Garvin

Anthony Grant building a legacy at his alma mater (photo by Erik Schelkun, courtesy Dayton Media Relations)



Flyers Are 22-5 & Ranked 21st In The Country


2024 Naismith National Coach of the Year Watchlist


ATLANTA – The Atlanta Tipoff Club has announced that University of Dayton men’s basketball coach Anthony Grant has been named to the Werner Ladder Naismith National Coach of the Year Late-Season Watch List presented by AXIA Time.

Grant is one of 15 coaches recognized.  Joining him on the watch list are Hubert Davis (North Carolina), Bryce Drew (Grand Canyon), Dan Hurley (UConn), Nate Oats (Alabama), T.J. Otzelberger (Iowa State), Matt Painter (Purdue), Lamont Paris (South Carolina), Bruce Pearl (Auburn), Richard Pitino (New Mexico), Mark Pope (BYU), Kelvin Sampson (Houston), Josh Schertz (Indiana State), Kyle Smith (Washington State) and Danny Sprinkle (Utah State).

Dayton is 22-5 this season and ranked 21st in both the Associated Press and Coaches Polls, despite losing pre-season All-Atlantic 10 guard Malachi Smith seven minutes into the season, and integrating five new players into the Flyers’ eight-man rotation.

Grant was named the 2020 Naismith National Coach of the Year.

In the modern era of UD basketball (Post-World War II), Grant is just the second Dayton grad to coach the Flyers. The first was his coach, College BB Hall of Famer Don Donoher (1964-89).

Dayton junior forward DaRon Homes II was named to the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Naismith Trophy Men’s College Player of the Year Midseason Team on Feb. 15.