Ohio State TE Jeremy Ruckert a Semifinalist for Campbell Trophy

SEPTEMBER 29, 2021

Ohio State senior tight end Jeremy Ruckert is among the candidates for college football’s premier scholar-athlete award as the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced today the 176 semifinalists for the 2021 William V. Campbell Trophy®.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

Ruckert, from Lindenhurst (N.Y.) High School, graduated this past August with his degree in human development and family sciences. He has played in 38 games for the Buckeyes and started nine times.

So far in 2021 Ruckert has six receptions for 81 yards through the first four games. He has 34 career receptions for 387 and nine touchdowns for his career. He ranks third in school history for touchdowns by a tight end.

Ruckert is described by Reese’s Senior Bowl CEO Jim Nagy as “one of the best tight ends in a deep and talented tight end class this year. Ruckert’s aggressiveness and toughness set him apart from other tight ends.”

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on Oct. 27, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2021 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments. The finalists will travel to the ARIA Resort & Casino Las Vegas for the 63rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 7.

Ohio State has 22 former NFF National Scholar-Athletes, a total that ranks second nationally.

Ohio State’s NFF Scholar-Athletes
2019 – Jordan Fuller
2015 – Jacoby Boren
2009 – Brian Robiskie
2003 – *Craig Krenzel
1999 – Ahmed Plummer
1996 – Greg Bellisari
1995 – *Bobby Hoying
1994 – Joey Galloway
1992 – Greg Smith
1990 – Greg Smith
1989 – Joe Staysniak
1995 – Mike Lanese
1984 – Dave Credelius
1993 – John Frank
1982 – Joe Smith
1979 – Jim Laughlin
1975 – Brian Baschnagel
1973 – Randy Gradishar
1970 – Rex Kern
1968 – Dave Foley
1965 – Willard Sander
1964 – Arnie Chonko
*William V. Campbell Trophy recipient


The People. The Tradition. The Excellence.



    Appreciating the commitment you put into your website and detailed information you present. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *