PGA Champions Tour News: 2023 Field for Kaulig Companies Championship in Akron, Ohio this week

By Reggie Mason

Firestone Country Club Clubhouse. 2006 photo. By User Wasted Time R, Public Domain, https

The Kaulig Companies Championship, scheduled for July 13-16 at Firestone Country Club, announced its 78-player field on Monday.


Defending champion Jerry Kelly returns to Firestone Country Club in 2023 after finishing 1st-2nd-1st in the last three Kaulig Companies Championships. He is one of seven past champions in the field along with Steve Stricker (2021), Retief Goosen (2019), Vijay Singh (2018), Scott McCarron (2017), Bernhard Langer (2014, 2015, 2016) and Kenny Perry (2013).


Stricker, who currently sits atop the Charles Schwab Cup standings, won each of the first two majors of the 2023 season (Regions Tradition, KitchenAid Senior PGA Championship) before finishing runner-up at the U.S. Senior Open two weeks ago.


Langer, who won the U.S. Senior Open for his record-setting 46th win on PGA TOUR Champions and record-extending 12th senior major title, is the lone three-time winner in Kaulig Companies Championship history. Langer is one of six World Golf Hall of Fame members in the field, along with Goosen, Singh, Charles Schwab No. 5 Ernie Els, Colin Montgomerie and Jose Maria Olazabal.


Olazabal, a two-time winner of the NEC World Series of Golf (1990, 1994) at Firestone Country Club, is among the past winners on the famed South Course in this week’s field. That list of winners also includes David Duval (1998 NEC World Series of Golf), Darren Clarke (2003 WGC-NEC Invitational), Stewart Cink (2004 WGC-NEC Invitational) and Singh (2008 WGC-NEC Invitational).


Cink, who turned 50 on May 21, will tee it up for just the second time on PGA TOUR Champions after finishing third in his debut at the KitchenAid Senior PGA Championship. Cink, who won the 2009 Open Championship, owns eight PGA TOUR victories, most recently winning the 2021 RBC Heritage.


In all, the 2023 field includes 23 PGA TOUR Champions major winners, 18 PGA TOUR major winners, 53 players who have won on PGA TOUR Champions (combining for 266 wins) and 63 players who have won on the PGA TOUR (339 wins). Additional notables include reigning PGA TOUR Champions Player of the Year Steven Alker, Charles Schwab No. 4 Stephen Ames, No. 8 Miguel Angel Jimenez and two-time major winner John Daly.


The winner of this year’s Kaulig Companies Championship will receive an exemption into the 2024 PLAYERS Championship.


The Kaulig Companies Championship is the fourth of five majors on PGA TOUR Champions in 2023. The final major of the season, The Senior Open Championship presented by Rolex, will be contested July 27-30 at Royal Porthcawl Golf Club in Wales.


2023 Kaulig Companies Championship Field (78)

Alker, Steven

Allen, Michael

Ames, Stephen

Andrade, Billy

Appleby, Stuart

Atwal, Arjun

Austin, Woody

Beckman, Cameron

Begay III, Notah

Bertsch, Shane

Bohn, Jason

Broadhurst, Paul

Browne, Olin

Cejka, Alex

Choi, K.J.

Cink, Stewart

Clarke, Darren

Daly, John

Dawson, Marco

Day, Glen

DiMarco, Chris

Dodd, Stephen

Duke, Ken

Dunlap, Scott

Durant, Joe

Duval, David

Els, Ernie

Estes, Bob

Flesch, Steve

Forsman, Dan

Franco, Carlos

Frazar, Harrison

Funk, Fred

Gay, Brian

Gogel, Matt

Goosen, Retief

Goydos, Paul

Green, Richard

Hensby, Mark

Huston, John

Janzen, Lee

Jiménez, Miguel Angel

Kelly, Jerry

Labritz, Rob

Langer, Bernhard

Lehman, Tom

Leonard, Justin

Maggert, Jeff

Mayfair, Billy

McCarron, Scott

Mediate, Rocco

Micheel, Shaun

Montgomerie, Colin
O’Neal, Timothy

Olazábal, José María

Pampling, Rod

Parel, Scott

Pate, Steve

Pavin, Corey

Pernice Jr., Tom

Perry, Kenny

Petrovic, Tim

Pride, Dicky

Quigley, Brett

Senden, John

Short, Jr., Wes

Singh, Vijay

Sluman, Jeff

Stankowski, Paul

Stricker, Steve

Sutherland, Kevin

Tanigawa, Ken

Toms, David

Triplett, Kirk

Verplank, Scott

Waldorf, Duffy

Weir, Mike

Yang, Y.E.


The Kaulig Companies Championship is one of five major championships contested annually on PGA TOUR Champions for eligible professionals age 50 and over. The 2023 tournament will be held the week of July 12-16 and will continue professional golf’s 70-year tradition at Firestone Country Club.  A field of 78 professionals will compete for one of the most prestigious Champions Tour titles and an exemption into the following year’s PLAYERS Championship in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida.



PGA TOUR Champions is a membership organization of professional golfers age 50 and older, including 35 members of the World Golf Hall of Fame. The Tour’s mission is to provide financial opportunities for its players, entertain and inspire its fans, deliver substantial value to its partners, create outlets for volunteers to give back and generate significant charitable and economic impact in tournament communities. Follow PGA TOUR Champions online at, on Facebook, on Twitter (@ChampionsTour), on Instagram (@pgatourchampions) and on TikTok (pgatourchampions).


All events are televised in the United States on Golf Channel, the exclusive cable-television partner of PGA TOUR Champions. Internationally, PGA TOUR Champions coverage is available in more than 170 countries and territories via 22 media partners.



Kaulig Companies Limited is the single-member family office (SFO) for Matt Kaulig and his immediate family. The family office operates across a diverse spectrum of businesses, including sports and entertainment, marketing and event management, private equity, real estate, investment advisory services and philanthropy, with a focus on children and families. To learn more visit


Northern Ohio Golf Charities and Foundation is the volunteer organization that has helped conduct professional golf tournaments at Firestone Country Club for 69 years through a dedicated, camaraderie-driven volunteer force who support tournament operations, raise funds for northern Ohio charities and recognize golf legends through the Ambassador of Golf program.