Illinois Fighting Illini Men’s Golf News: Dumont de Chassart, Kuhl Named to Final Haskins Award Watch List

Adrien Dumont de Chassart
Tommy Kuhl

Mon, May 22, 2023

Dumont de Chassart, Kuhl Named to Final Haskins Award Watch List

COLUMBUS, Ga. – Fighting Illini fifth-year senior golfers Adrien Dumont de Chassart and Tommy Kuhl have both been named among the 10 collegiate standouts on the Fred Haskins Award Final watch list, announced Monday (May 22) through Haskins Award media partners Golf Channel and Golfweek.

Illinois is the only program in the nation to have multiple honorees on the list.

Dumont de Chassart is the three-time Big Ten Golfer of the Year and a unanimous first-team All-B1G selection for the second straight year in 2023. This postseason, he earned his fourth All-Big Ten Championship Team selection with a tie for fifth to help lead the Illini to their eighth consecutive Big Ten title at Galloway (N.J.) National Golf Club, and tied for second to lead the Illini to through the NCAA Bath Regional and into this week’s NCAA Championship. Dumont de Chassart was presented with his second straight Les Bolstad Award as the Big Ten golfer with the league’s best stroke average through the conference championship; His average of 69.63 was the lowest mark on record since the Bolstad Award’s inception in 1974, and it has now dipped to 69.54, on pace to break the program record mark he established last season. Dumont de Chassart captured his fourth collegiate victory this season at the Fighting Illini Spring Collegiate, and has top-16 finishes all 12 events on the year, including four additional runner-up finishes. He closed as Illinois first- or second-place finisher in nine events, pacing the squad in a team-leading six tournaments, and is tied for the team lead with 27 (out of 35) rounds at par or better.

Kuhl has won back-to-back first-team All-Big Ten honors as a unanimous selection in 2023. The Morton, Ill., native has continued to build off of his stellar 2021-22 season, to again rank among the nation’s top performers. He is second on the team with a season stroke average of 70.17, nearly two strokes ahead of his previous season-best (71.85) set last season. Kuhl placed as the Illini’s top finisher in five events this season, the second-most on the team behind Dumont de Chassart. Entering the NCAA Championship, he has 12 consecutive top-16 finishes, including seven top-5s. Kuhl, who has been selected to represent Team USA at the 2023 Arnold Palmer Cup, shot a career-low-tying score of 65 (-6) in the final round of the Hal Williams Collegiate, to finish with a career-low 54-hole total of 203 (-10) and earn the best finish (T2nd) of his career as an Illini. He then matched his career-low in the second round of the 2023 Big Ten Championship at Galloway National Golf Club, en route to a tie for third (bronze medalist) and a spot on the All-Big Ten Championship team. He is coming off of a tie for eighth at the NCAA Bath Regional, and is tied for the team lead with 27 of 35 rounds at par or better. He ranks second with 11 rounds in the 60s.

Dumont de Chassart and Kuhl are now set to lead the Illini to the 2023 NCAA Championship, teeing off Friday at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz.


  • Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech
  • Adrien Dumont de Chassart, Illinois
  • David Ford, North Carolina
  • Benjamin James, Virginia
  • Tommy Kuhl, Illinois
  • Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech
  • Maxwell Moldovan, Ohio State
  • Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt
  • Preston Summerhays, Arizona State
  • Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford


Celebrating its 53rd year, the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel has been given to players who have captured 33 major championships and more than 400 professional tournaments around the world. Past recipients include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Ben Crenshaw, and Justin Thomas. Chris Gotterup (Oklahoma) won the 52nd Haskins Award in 2022. The Fred Haskins Award is the oldest individual college golf award and the only award to be voted on by players, coaches, golf SIDs, and select golf media. Golf Channel and Golfweek are media partners for the Fred Haskins Award.

– #Illini –