Ohio State Buckeyes Men’s Golf News: Maxwell Moldovan Named to Fred Haskins Final Watch List

Maxwell Moldovan

Mon, May 22, 2023

The Ohio State junior is one of 10 players on the final list 

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State Maxwell Moldovan has had one of the best seasons in program history and deservedly finds his name on the final watch list for the Fred Haskins Award. 

Now in its 53rd year, the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel is the oldest individual college golf award and the only award to be voted on by players, coaches, golf SID’s, and select golf media. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, May 30th on Golf Channel. 

Moldovan has 10 Top-10 finishes, including seven Top-5 finishes, in 12 events this season. He is coming off a win at the NCAA Auburn Regional which was the fourth victory of his career. The Uniontown, Ohio native set the program’s single-season scoring record in each of his first two seasons and is on pace to break it again, this time by more than half a stroke. He is averaging 70.46 over 35 rounds. He has 15 rounds in the 60s this season which pushes his already program record to 37 career rounds in the 60s. 

Moldovan and the Buckeyes are headed to the NCAA Championship this week at Grayhawk Golf Club in Phoenix, Ariz. This is the program’s second consecutive trip to the finals, something that hadn’t happened since the 1997 and 1998 seasons.  

Final Haskins Award Watch List presented by Stifel (listed alphabetically):
Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech
Adrien Dumont de Chassart, Illinois
David Ford, North Carolina
Benjamin James, Virginia
Tommy Kuhl, Illinois
Christian Lamprecht, Georgia Tech
Maxwell Moldovan, Ohio State
Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt
Preston Summerhays, Arizona State
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford 



The People. The Tradition. The Excellence.