Ohio State Athletic News: Buckeyes Lead Big Ten with 167 Distinguished Scholars

Single-year mark is second-best in school history


Online Release | B1G Distinguished Scholars list

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State led the way for the Big Ten, with 167 student-athletes named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars for 2021-22. The total is the second-most in program history, behind only the 232 recognized in 2020-21. The previous high for Ohio State was 164 in 2019-20.

Ohio State, Penn State (135), Michigan State (126) and Nebraska (105) were the only conference schools with 100 or more honorees in 2021-22.

The complete list of Ohio State Big Ten Distinguished Scholars is available at the links above.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum grade-point average of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher for a student-athlete’s academic career.

The rowing team led Ohio State with 23 honorees, while women’s gymnastics (12), women’s ice hockey (11) and women’s lacrosse (10) also had double-digit selections. Fencing was first among men’s squads with eight honorees, followed by lacrosse with seven.

Forty Buckeyes were recognized for posting 4.0 grade-point averages in 2021-22:

  • Sina Schwinn (field hockey)
  • Harry Miller (football)
  • Corey Rau (football)
  • Kyle Young (men’s basketball)
  • Zach Shultz (men’s cross country)
  • Nick Regas (men’s cross country/track & field)
  • Jake Wickert (men’s cross country/track & field)
  • Andrew Brower (men’s gymnastics)
  • Connor Mitchell (men’s lacrosse)
  • Jay Johnson (men’s swimming & diving)
  • David Palmer (men’s track & field)
  • Emily Nothnagle (pistol)
  • Niki Carver (softball)
  • Victoria Carlson (synchronized swimming)
  • Rose Homoelle (synchronized swimming)
  • Laila Huric (synchronized swimming)
  • Olivia Schafer (synchronized swimming)
  • Caroline Walsh (synchronized swimming)
  • Erica Francesconi (women’s cross country/track & field)
  • Allie Guagenti (women’s cross country/track & field)
  • Andrea Kuhn (women’s cross country/track & field)
  • Hannah Moulton (women’s cross country/track & field)
  • Suzanne Stein (women’s cross country/track & field)
  • Claire Gagliardi (women’s gymnastics)
  • Hannah Oliveros (women’s gymnastics)
  • Zoe Schweitzer (women’s gymnastics)
  • Jennifer Gardiner (women’s ice hockey)
  • Paetyn Levis (women’s ice hockey)
  • Sarah Johnson (women’s lacrosse)
  • Cai Martin (women’s lacrosse)
  • Leah Sax (women’s lacrosse)
  • Katelyn Bartos (rowing)
  • Allison Krish (rowing)
  • Darby Pethrick (rowing)
  • Tess Thompson (rowing)
  • Amy Fulmer (women’s swimming & diving)
  • Katherine Zenick (women’s swimming & diving)
  • Aziza Ayoub (women’s track & field)
  • Hanna Gruensfelder (women’s volleyball)
  • Rocky Jordan (wrestling)


The People. The Tradition. The Excellence.



    You actually make it appear really easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I am taking a look ahead for your subsequent put up, I will attempt to get the hang of it!

Comments are closed.