NHL News: Barkov, Matthews and Staal Voted Selke Trophy Finalists

By StephanieLee Elliott

Selke Trophy finalists Barkov Matthews Staal

NHL Public Relations

May 5, 2024

NEW YORK (May 5, 2024) – Florida Panthers center Aleksander Barkov, Toronto Maple Leafs center Auston Matthews and Carolina Hurricanes center Jordan Staal are the three finalists for the 2023-24 Frank J. Selke Trophy, awarded “to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game,” the National Hockey League announced today.


Members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association submitted ballots for the Selke Trophy at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists.


Following are the finalists for the Selke Trophy, in alphabetical order:


Aleksander Barkov, C, Florida Panthers

Barkov was a key contributor to the Atlantic Division champion Panthers finishing the season tied for first place in the NHL in goals-against per game (2.41, excluding two GA for shootout losses). It also marked the lowest such figure in franchise history, topping the 2.44 set in 2015-16. Barkov took a team-leading 1,100 face-offs and posted a win rate of 57.3%, ranking ninth in the NHL (min. 50 GP/500 face-offs). He placed fifth among NHL forwards in plus-minus with a +33 rating, the second-highest figure in his 11-year NHL career. The puck was in the offensive zone for 46.3% of the time Barkov was on the ice at even strength according to NHL EDGE tracking data, ranking in the 97th percentile among NHL skaters, and in the defensive zone for just 35.3% of the time (97th percentile). The Panthers captain is a Selke Trophy finalist for the third time in the past four seasons. He became the first Selke winner in franchise history in 2020-21 and placed third in voting in 2021-22.


Auston Matthews, C, Toronto Maple Leafs

Matthews, who already has claimed the 2023-24 Maurice Richard Trophy as the League’s leading goal-scorer during the regular season (69), is the first Richard winner also voted a Selke finalist in the same season. Also voted a finalist for the Lady Byng Trophy, Matthews ranked second among all NHL forwards in takeaways (85), tied for second in blocked shots (93), was fifth in even-strength total ice time (1,364:28) and seventh in plus-minus (+31). He skated 281.48 miles this season according to NHL EDGE tracking data, in the 98th percentile among NHL skaters, with the puck in the defensive zone just 38.1% of the time Matthews was on the ice at even strength (87th percentile). Matthews is a Selke finalist for the first time and the second Maple Leafs player among the final three in as many seasons, following Mitch Marner’s 3rd-place finish in 2022-23. He is vying to become the second Maple Leafs player to win the Selke, following franchise legend Doug Gilmour in 1992-93.


Jordan Staal, C, Carolina Hurricanes

Staal led all Hurricanes forwards in shorthanded ice time (168:58) for the NHL’s top penalty-killing unit (86.4%). He took a team-leading 1,375 face-offs and won 58.1% of them, the sixth-best percentage in the League (min. 50 GP/500 face-offs), taking 89% more face-offs in the defensive zone (581) than the offensive zone (308). The Hurricanes captain ranked second among NHL forwards in the puck possession metric SAT% (min. 50 GP, 61.9%), with Carolina accounting for 61.9% of all shot attempts 5-on-5 when Staal was on the ice. This marks Staal’s second career nod as a Selke finalist, the first coming in 2009-10 (PIT, 3rd). The 14-year gap between Selke finalist berths is the longest in NHL history for a single voted award, four years more than the decade between Hart Trophy finalist spots for Tony Esposito (1969-70, 1979-80) and Patrick Roy (1991-92, 2001-02). Staal is the first Hurricanes finalist for the Selke since his current head coach Rod Brind’Amour collected the second of back-to-back wins in 2006-07.



The Frank J. Selke Trophy was presented in 1977 by the NHL’s Board of Governors in honor of Frank J. Selke, one of the great architects of Montreal’s and Toronto’s championship teams.


Announcement Schedule

The series of NHL Trophy finalist announcements for the 2024 NHL Awards continues Monday, May 6, when the three finalists from each of Canada and the United States for the Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award will be unveiled.



Posted in NHL