NHL News: Kings’ Anze Kopitar Wins Lady Byng Trophy

Posted by R.G. Mason

NASHVILLE (June 26, 2023) – Los Angeles Kings center Anze Kopitar is the 2022-23 recipient of the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, awarded “to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability,” as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.


Kopitar captured his second Lady Byng Trophy in his third year as a finalist. He won the award in 2015-16 and finished third in voting in 2014-15.


Kopitar was named on 162 of the 196 ballots cast, including 77 first-place selections, for 1,175 voting points. Second-place Jack Hughes of the New Jersey Devils received votes on 147 ballots and was the top choice on 41 for 934 points. Brayden Point of the Tampa Bay Lightning finished third in voting with 682 points (15 first-place selections).


Kopitar topped the Kings with 28-46—74 to guide the team to a 47-win and 104-point campaign, its second-best in both categories after 2015-16 (48) and 1974-75 (105), respectively. The Los Angeles captain led his team in scoring for a fifth straight season and 15th time overall, the third-most in League history behind Wayne Gretzky (19x w/ EDM, LAK and NYR) and Gordie Howe (17x w/ DET). Kopitar, who ranked 10th among NHL forwards in total time on ice (1,664:47) while playing in all 82 games, was assessed just four penalty minutes – the fewest among the League’s top 100 scorers. He also placed fourth in the NHL in face-off wins (899) and 13th in face-off winning percentage (55.9%), the latter the third-highest rate of his 17-season career.


For more on the Lady Byng Trophy, including a list of past winners, click here.


Posted in NHL