The XFL is back, Thanks to “The Rock” and Dany Garcia!

Dany Garcia and Dwayne Johnson led the consortium that purchased the XFL out of bankruptcy in August 2020. By David Shankbone – Own work, CC BY 3.0, https


The XFL is a professional American football minor league consisting of eight teams located across the United States in mid-sized to major markets served by at least one other major professional sports team. Seasons run from February to May, with each team playing a ten-game regular season, and four progressing to the playoffs to crown a season champion. The league is headquartered in Arlington, Texas.

The league was founded by WWE executive Vince McMahon in 2018, as a reboot and successor to the league of the same name he founded in 2001. McMahon re-founded the XFL to create a league with fewer off-field controversies and faster, simpler play compared to the National Football League (NFL), as well as one without the professional wrestling–inspired features and entertainment elements of its predecessor. The league and its teams were originally owned by McMahon’s Alpha Entertainment.

After only five weeks of play in its inaugural 2020 season, the league’s operations slowly came to a close due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and filed for bankruptcy on April 13. In August 2020, actor Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, along with longtime business partner and ex-wife Dany Garcia, led a consortium to purchase the XFL for $15 million. The league will return to play on February 18, 2023.

The XFL operates in the winter and early spring months, after the end of the NFL’s season and before the start of the United States Football League (USFL)’s. The XFL has a player personnel partnership with the Indoor Football League (IFL), with the league functioning as its de facto minor league.


Week 2 starts on Thursday, February 23, 2023


Posted in XFL