Dayton Football Flyers Open PFL Play At Home Vs. Drake this afternoon

Dayton Football Opens PFL Play At Home Vs. Drake

Saturday’s Game Time Is 1 P.M. ET

Dayton Game Notes: 

 FB Game Notes Vs. Drake (PDF) – University of Dayton Athletics (

DAYTON — The University of Dayton football team will open its 2022 Pioneer Football League season when Drake visits Welcome Stadium.

Dayton went 2-1 in the non-conference portion of the schedule with wins at Robert Morris (22-20) and at home vs. Kentucky State (46-3) sandwiched around a loss at Youngstown State (49-16).

A charter member of the PFL, Dayton has won 12 league championships in the PFL’s 29 seasons.  UD and San Diego have won the most league titles.

 The Flyers scored in their 500th consecutive game in the win over Kentucky State.  That is the longest active streak in Division I football. 


The Flyers entered the season with the fifth-best winning percentage (.727, 168-63) in FCS football since 2000 AND have produced the most football Academic All-Americans (35) in Division I in the same time frame.  The top five in winning percentage are North Dakota State (.808), Harvard (.756), Montana (.754), San Diego (.736) and Dayton (.727).


UD has not been shut out in a school-record 500 straight games, the best such active string in Division I football. The last team to shut out the Flyers was Marshall, 9-0, on Oct. 16, 1976.


• The Pioneer Football League is in its 30th season.  The original (and now the only) Division I strictly need-based football league began with charter members Butler, Dayton, Drake, Evansville, San Diego and Valparaiso. 

• UD’s 129-45 record is the best in PFL history.

• The Flyers’ 12 league championships are the most in PFL history.  San Diego also has 12.


• Rick Chamberlin is now in his 14th season in charge of Flyer football. His record is 101-46.

• He is the 16th active FCS coach with 100 career wins.

• Chamberlin is just the third coach (out of 429 with 100 career wins) to play for his alma mater, immediately join (and never leave) the coaching staff, and then become the head coach while only doing all at one school.

• The first two were Knute Rockne, and the man who succeeded John Heisman at Georgia Tech, William A. Alexander.

• He is third all-time in wins at UD, behind two College Football Hall of Fame members– Mike Kelly (246 wins) and Harry Baujan (124).

• After coaching the Flyers to the FCS playoffs in 2015, Chamberlin was named the 2015 AFCA District Coach of the Year and the PFL Coach of the Year.  He was the school’s first AFCA District Coach of the Year, and his PFL honor was the ninth for a Dayton coach.

• Chamberlin is also in his 48th season as part of the Flyer football program.  A Flyer All-American linebacker in his playing days, he has been a part of 395 of UD’s 695 wins – 26 as a player, 268 as an assistant coach, and 100 as a head coach.  He has also been a part of 516 of UD’s 1,099 games.


• Rick Chamberlin is the winningest coach in Pioneer Football League history, with 74 wins.

• No other PFL coach has 60 league wins.


• The Flyer co-captains for the 2022 season are senior running back Jake Chisholm, graduate linebacker Ben Schmiesing and senior offensive guard Brian Stevens.

• Senior wideout Derek Willits is this year’s special teams captain. 


• Co-captain Jake Chisholm is on the Stats Perform Walter Payton Award Watch List.  The Payton award goes annually to the FCS offensive player of the year.   This is the third consecutive Flyer season a Dayton player is on the watch list (Adam Trautman, Jack Cook).  Chisholm is one of 10 Payton finalists from last returning to the list this season.

• Chisholm is also on the Stats Perform and HERO Sports Preseason All-America Second Teams as an all-purpose runner.


• Dayton travels to Butler for the first of two road games.  Kickoff in Indianapolis is 1 p.m. ET.

• After playing at Marist on Oct. 15, UD’s next home game is on Oct. 22 against Stetson.