NHL News: Leafs’ Bunting, Red Wings’ Seider and Ducks’ Zegras Voted Calder Trophy Finalists

May 11, 2022

Calder Trophy Finalists, Bunting, Seider, Zegras

NEW YORK (May 11, 2022) – Toronto Maple Leafs left wing Michael Bunting, Detroit Red Wings defenseman Moritz Seider and Anaheim Ducks center Trevor Zegras are the three finalists for the 2021‑22 Calder Memorial Trophy, awarded “to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition,” the National Hockey League announced today.

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association submitted ballots for the Calder Trophy at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winners of the 2022 NHL Awards will be revealed during the Conference Finals and Stanley Cup Final, with exact dates, format and times to be announced.

Following are the finalists for the Calder Trophy, in alphabetical order:

Michael Bunting, LW, Toronto Maple Leafs

Bunting led all rookies with 23-40—63 in 79 games to help power a Maple Leafs offense that ranked second in the NHL with 315 goals – the team’s most in a season since 1989-90 (337). Bunting, who recorded the third-most points in a season by a Toronto rookie behind only Auston Matthews (40‑29—69 in 2016-17) and Peter Ihnacak (28-38—66 in 1982-83), also placed among the top 2021-22 rookies in assists (2nd; 40), plus/minus (2nd; +27), goals (t-2nd; 23), shots on goal (6th; 175) and shooting percentage (6th; 13.1%). The 2014 fourth-round pick (117th overall by ARI), who signed with the Maple Leafs in July, found the scoresheet in 44 of his 79 appearances (55.7%) – highlighted by 14 multi-point performances, his second career hat trick Jan. 29 at DET, and a career-high four assists and five points Feb. 26 at DET (1-4—5). Bunting is seeking to become the 11th player in franchise history to capture the Calder Trophy and just the second to do so in the NHL’s expansion era (since 1967-68), after Matthews in 2016-17.

Moritz Seider, D, Detroit Red Wings

Seider paced rookie defensemen with 7-43—50, a point total surpassed by only two rookie blueliners over the last 30 years (Quinn Hughes: 8-45—53 in 2019-20 w/ VAN; Vladimir Malakhov: 14‑38—52 in 1992-93 w/ NYI) and just two rookie defensemen in Detroit history (Reed Larson:19‑41—60 in 1977-78; Nicklas Lidstrom: 11-49—60 in 1991-92). Seider, the sixth overall selection from the 2019 NHL Draft, led all 2021-22 rookies (forwards and defensemen) in assists (43), power-play assists (19) and power-play points (21), while ranking among the top five in shots on goal (3rd; 187), points (4th; 50) and game-winning goals (t-5th; 4). He played in each of the Red Wings’ 82 contests to also lead all rookies in total time on ice (1,889:22) and minutes per game (23:02) – franchise rookie records in both categories (which have been tracked since 1997-98). Detroit’s first Calder Trophy finalist since 2009-10 (Jimmy Howard), Seider is vying to become the sixth player in franchise history to win the award and first since Roger Crozier in 1964-65.

Trevor Zegras, C, Anaheim Ducks

Zegras, who dazzled the hockey world with highlight-reel assists and goals, finished second among rookies with 23-38—61 in 75 games – single-season franchise records for assists and points by a rookie, ahead of Cam Fowler (30 in 2010-11) and Bobby Ryan (57 in 2008-09), respectively. The ninth overall pick from the 2019 NHL Draft, Zegras topped NHL freshmen with 19 multi-point outings en route to placing among the rookie leaders in power-play goals (1st; 9), game-winning goals (t-1st; 5), goals (t-2nd; 23), assists (3rd; 38), power-play points (3rd; 17), shots on goal (5th; 181), power-play assists (t-6th; 8) and shooting percentage (7th; 12.7%). Zegras, who ranked second in average time on ice by rookie forwards (17:54), also paced all NHL players (rookie or veteran) with six shootout goals. He is the third player in franchise history who has been voted a Calder Trophy finalist, after Paul Kariya (1994-95) and Ryan(2008-09), and is looking to become the first Ducks player to take home the award.


From 1936-37 until his death in 1943, NHL President Frank Calder purchased a trophy each year to be given permanently to the League’s outstanding rookie. After Calder’s death, the NHL presented the Calder Memorial Trophy in his memory.

Announcement Schedule

The three finalists for the 2022 NHL Awards are being announced through Friday, May 20. The series of announcements continues Thursday, May 12, when the three finalists for the Hart Memorial Trophy will be unveiled.


Posted in NHL


    Howdy are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you require any html coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Comments are closed.