USFL News: Teams, nicknames announced for 2022 debut season

The buzz for the United States Football League is continuing to build ahead of the league’s April 2022 debut.

The new league’s city affiliations, team nicknames and logos for all eight franchises were announced in November 2021.

Fans got their first look at the eight teams, which will be divided evenly into a North Division and a South Division. In the North, the USFL will have the Michigan PanthersNew Jersey GeneralsPhiladelphia Stars and Pittsburgh Maulers.

The Birmingham StallionsHouston GamblersNew Orleans Breakers and Tampa Bay Bandits will comprise the South Division. 

“We’re excited to take this next major step in the development of a new USFL,” said Brian Woods, USFL President of Football Operations in a release. “These eight teams form the core of our initial league membership and will represent an exciting brand of professional football coming this spring. We look forward to the start of our inaugural season.”

For the 2022 season, the USFL will play in one host city, the location of which is yet to be announced. 

The teams will play a 10-game schedule, followed by semifinals between the top two teams in each division to crown the division winners. Then, the championship will be played between those two winners.


Cleveland Browns News
1 month ago