Clemson 2020 Hall of Fame Class Inductees honored in 2021 due to Covid-19

Note: The following appears in the Wake Forest football gameday program.

Block C Club is Inducting eight members into the Clemson Hall of Fame. The organization has honored former student-athletes since 1973.

The Clemson athletic department adds eight new members to its hall of fame this weekend as members of the 2020 class. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 class was unable to be recognized, therefore that class is being recognized this season at today’s game.

This is one of the most decorated classes in the history of the Clemson Athletic Hall of Fame, which dates to 1973. The new inductees include one former head coach, one longtime administrator and six former student-athletes. The class also includes five All-Americans, two ACC MVPs and two members of ACC 50-Year Anniversary teams.

The group includes C.J. Spiller and Trevor Booker, who were both in their first year of eligibility for the hall of fame. Spiller finished sixth in the Heisman Trophy voting in 2009, when he was a unanimous All-American and ACC MVP. Spiller was also an All-American in track during his Clemson career.

Booker led the Tigers to three NCAA Tournaments as an All-America basketball player from 2006-10. He became the first ACC player with 1,500 points, 1,000 rebounds, 200 assists, 200 blocks and 100 steals.

Three-time All-America golfer Nicky Goetze, who started on four top-20 Clemson teams during the early 1990s, also joins the prestigious club. Goetze was an All-America scholar by Golf Coaches Association.

Former NCAA track champion Travis Padgett, a two-time winner of the school’s Frank Howard Award and ACC men’s track MVP indoors and outdoors in 2008, is one of the 2020 inductees. He still holds the school record in the 100m (9.89).

Julie Augustyniak was named to the ACC 50-Year Anniversary women’s soccer team and joins her twin sister, Nancy, in the hall of fame. Clemson won the ACC regular-season championship and finished a program-best No. 5 in the nation during her senior year (2000).

Cappy Craig was Clemson’s first ACC champion and a two-time All-America diver in 1982. She led the Tigers to their first top-20 NCAA finish that season.

Bill D’Andrea began an over 30-year association with Clemson athletics as a graduate assistant football coach in 1983. He was a trusted member of Danny Ford’s coaching staff from 1986-89, when he helped the Tigers to three ACC championships and four top-20 finishes, then he held important administrative roles as the first leader of Vickery Hall and later as executive director of IPTAY.

Jack Leggett is the only head coach in this class and is also in his first year of eligibility. He led the baseball team for 22 years (1994-15) and took them to 21 NCAA Tourneys. Clemson had a top-10 final ranking seven times, including three when the Tigers reached the Final Four of the College World Series. He took Clemson to Omaha six times overall.


Cleveland Browns News
1 month ago
Cincinnati Reds News
2 months ago