Ohio State Football opponent Week 2: Tulsa RB’s Brooks and Prince named to Doak Walker Award Preseason Watch List

DALLAS, Texas –– The University of Tulsa running backs Shamari Brooks and Deneric Prince were named to the Doak Walker Award Preseason Watch List, it was announced by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum.

The Doak Walker Award, named for SMUs three-time All-America running back Doak Walker, is annually presented to the nation’s top college running back.

Brook, who stands 5’9″ from Tulsa Union High School, will be returning for his senior season after a knee injury kept him out of the 2020 campaign.

In 2019, Brooks rushed for a team-high 1,046 yards and six touchdowns last year in 12 games. He earned second-team American Athletic Conference accolades and turned in a career-best 202 rushing yards on 16 carries in the season finale against East Carolina to finish the season ranked 5th in the AAC.

A three-year letterwinner and two-year starter, Brooks has played in 32 career games and has 2,700 total rushing yards and 23 TDs. He has 12-career 100+ rushing games, including four in each of his three seasons.

Brooks enters the 2021 season ranked 5th on the school’s career rushing list and 12th for career rushing TDs. He needs 1,217 rushing yards in 2020 to tie D’Angelo Brewer (2014-17) for the school’s all-time rushing lead.

Prince, a junior from Manvel, Texas, helped fill the hole left by Brooks last year after transferring from Texas A&M. He totaled 475 yards for a 5.4 average per carry and scored four touchdowns in his first season with the Hurricane. Prince had a career-best 109 yards and two touchdowns on 15 carries against USF.

His season-long 62-yard carry against USF was the longest for a Tulsa running back since the 2015 season.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name 10 semifinalists in November, and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, will also be announced November. The committee will cast a second vote in December to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.



Comments are closed.