Penn State Football News: Brisker Named to Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

Jaquan Brisker

(July 26, 2021)

Award recognizes the nation’s top defensive back

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – Penn State senior safety Jaquan Brisker has been named to the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List, it was announced on Monday.

This list includes 40 of the nation’s best defensive backs, representing 10 conferences and one independent. The preseason watch list is selected by a screening committee whose members compile a list of up to 50 players.

Jaquan Brisker

  • Has played in 22 career games, making nine starts.
  • Earned All-American first team honors from Pro Football Focus in 2020.
  • Was an honorable mention All-American by Phil Steele.
  • Named an All-Big Ten third team selection by the coaches and honorable mention by the media.
  • Garnered Pro Football Focus All-Big Ten first team honors.
  • Earned Phil Steele All-Big Ten second team laurels.
  • Tallied six pass breakups in 2020, good for a tie for seventh in the Big Ten.
  • Seven passes defended were tied for 11th in the league.
  • Finished 12th in the Big Ten for solo tackles (33).
  • Was 15th in the conference in total tackles (57) and third among defensive backs

A preseason watch list is compiled by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame based on previous performance and preseason All-America lists. A screening committee consisting of OSHOF members monitor the watch list players and narrow the field to 10 to 15 semifinalists in October. This committee reconvenes on the Monday before Thanksgiving to select three award finalists. The three finalists are submitted to a national panel of over 250 sports writers, sportscasters, former players and coaches who vote to determine the winner of the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award.

The winner will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Penn State Football Preseason Honors/Watch Lists

Jaquan Brisker: Bednarik Award, Jim Thorpe Award

Sean Clifford: Allstate Good Works Team Nominee

Noah Cain: Doak Walker Award

Jahan Dotson: Maxwell Award, Biletnikoff Award, Big Ten Player to Watch

James Franklin: Dodd Trophy

Keyvone Lee: Doak Walker Award

John Lovett: Doak Walker Award

Jesse Luketa: Butkus Award

Brandon Smith: Butkus Award

Brenton Strange: Mackey Award

Penn State’s season opener on Sept. 4 at Wisconsin will kick off at noon on FOX. The Nittany Lions will make their return to Beaver Stadium on Sept. 11 vs. Ball State, a 3:30 p.m. ET start on FS1. Penn State’s 2021 schedule with updated kick times and TV designations can be found here:

The 2021 Penn State Football season is presented by PSECU.




    I am usually to blogging and i really recognize your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your web site and keep checking for new information.

Comments are closed.