American Athletic Conference Football News: Has 7 Players on Bednarik Award Watch List

Diego Fagot (courtesy Naval Academy Athletics)

Twice in the last six seasons, an American Athletic Conference player has won the Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation’s top defensive player. This year, seven players from The American have been listed as candidates for the national honor with their placement on the award’s preseason watch list.

The seven American Athletic Conference players are among the 90 players named to the 2021 watch list. 

Cincinnati, which finished last season ranked No. 8 nationally, has two players on the watch list as All-America cornerback Ahmad  Gardner joins defensive end Myjai Sanders.

Houston cornerback Marcus Jones, himself an All-America pick as a special teams player last season, makes the list, joining Memphis safety Quindell Johnson, Navy linebacker Diego Fagot, Tulane linebacker Dorian Williams and Tulsa defensive tackle Jaxon Player.

Tulsa’s Zaven Collins, who was the unanimous American Athletic Conference Defensie Player of the Year in 2020, won last year’s Bednarik Award, joining 2015 honoree Tyler Matakevich from Temple from The American’s list of past winners.



    Nice post. I learn something tougher on totally different blogs everyday. It’ll at all times be stimulating to learn content material from different writers and follow a bit of one thing from their store. I’d choose to make use of some with the content material on my weblog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll provide you with a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.