Big Ten Conference News: 2021 Football Preseason Honors

Ten former All-Big Ten selections highlight this year’s listROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced its 2021 football preseason honors on Thursday in conjunction with the start of Big Ten Football Media Days at Lucas Oil Stadium. A media panel selected the 10-member preseason list, with five representatives each from the East and West Divisions.

Ohio State placed a trio of honorees on the East Division list, highlighted by Buckeye left tackle Thayer Munford, one of the most experienced offensive linemen in the Big Ten this season. He was joined on this year’s preseason East Division squad by a pair of Ohio State wide receivers in Chris Olave and Garrett Wilson, with Indiana quarterback Michael Penix Jr., and Penn State wide receiver Jahan Dotson completing the East Division side.

Five different schools placed students on the West Division preseason list, led by two recipients of conference individual awards from a season ago in Minnesota’s Mohamed Ibrahim (Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year) and Northwestern’s Brandon Joseph (Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year). Iowa center Tyler Linderbaum, Purdue wide receiver David Bell and Wisconsin linebacker Jack Sanborn rounded out this year’s West Division honorees.

Ibrahim and Joseph were also 2020 first-team All-Big Ten selections, joining fellow first-team honorees Munford, Olave and Wilson, second-team selections Penix Jr., Linderbaum and Bell, as well as third-team honorees Dotson and Sanborn.

Eight of this year’s Big Ten preseason honorees — Penix Jr., Linderbaum, Ibrahim, Joseph, Munford, Dotson, Bell and Sanborn — are scheduled to attend Big Ten Media Days this week in Indianapolis.

The full list of Big Ten football preseason honorees is as follows:

Michael Penix Jr., QB, IND
Thayer Munford, LT, OSU
Chris Olave, WR, OSU
Garrett Wilson, WR, OSU
Jahan Dotson, WR, PSU

Tyler Linderbaum, C, IOWA
Mohamed Ibrahim, RB, MINN
Brandon Joseph, S, NU 
David Bell, WR, PUR
Jack Sanborn, LB, WIS


Cincinnati Reds News
2 weeks ago
NWSL Weekend Matches
1 month ago
Toronto FC II News
1 month ago
Columbus Crew 2 News
2 months ago
Columbus Eagles News
2 months ago
Toronto Blue Jays News
2 months ago
Cincinnati Reds News
3 months ago
Stanford Women’s Golf: 2022 ANNIKA Award Winner is Rose Zhang