NHL 2020-21 Awards: Golden Knights’ Marc-Andre Fleury Wins Vezina Trophy

NEW YORK (June 29, 2021) – Marc-Andre Fleury of the Vegas Golden Knights is the 2020-21 recipient of the Vezina Trophy, awarded “to the goaltender adjudged to be the best at his position,” as selected by NHL general managers.

Fleury was named on 30 of the 31 ballots and received 14 first-place selections in amassing 108 voting points, edging 2018-19 Vezina Trophy winner Andrei Vasilevskiy of the Tampa Bay Lightning (99 points), a first choice on 12 ballots. Philipp Grubauer of the Colorado Avalanche ranked third with 36 points.

Fleury, who combined with Robin Lehner to capture the William M. Jennings Trophy as the goaltenders on the team that allowed the fewest goals during the regular season, ranked third in the NHL in wins (26), goals-against average (1.98), save percentage (.928) and shutouts (6) in 36 appearances. The 36-year-old Sorel, Que., native yielded two or fewer goals in 25 of his 36 outings (69.4%) en route to posting the best goals-against average and save percentage of his 17-season NHL career. He closed the season on a nine-game winning streak (April 11 – May 12: 1.43 GAA, .943 SV%, 2 SO) and climbed two spots into third place on the League’s all-time wins list (492), surpassing Ed Belfour (5th; 484) and Roberto Luongo (4th; 489). He also moved into a tie, with Roy Worters, for 14th place on the NHL’s all-time shutout list (67).

Fleury takes home the Vezina Trophy in his first year as a finalist and becomes the first player in Golden Knights history to win the award, following the four individual trophies the team claimed during its inaugural season in 2017-18.

For more on the Vezina Trophy, including a list of past winners, click here.


Posted in NHL


Comments are closed.