Oral Roberts Men’s Basketball News: Max Abmas, Summit League Player of the Year; Obanor, Glasper get honors as well

Max Abmas (courtesy Oral Roberts)

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – Oral Roberts men’s basketball guard Max Abmas was chosen as The Summit League Player of the Year as announced by the league office Thursday, while he joined forward Kevin Obanor on the All-Summit League First Team. Redshirt senior RJ Glasper was named to the league’s All-Newcomer Team.

The Golden Eagles one-two punch of Abmas and Obanor are the highest-scoring duo in NCAA basketball this year combining for 953 total points headlining the program as they enter the postseason.

Max Abmas, So., Guard (Rockwall, Texas)
All-Summit League First Team

  • NCAA’s leading scorer averaging 24.7 points per game and ranks third in the nation making 4.0 3-pointers per game
  • Only NCAA player this season to score 40 or more points in a game twice and has tallied nine-consecutive outings with at least 20 points
  • Sits fourth in the conference averaging 3.3 assists per game with a 1.7 assist to turnover ratio
  • Named Summit League Male Athlete of the Month in January and February to go with two league Player of the Week honors and the distinction of Lou Henson Mid-Major National Player of the Week Feb. 15
  • Needs just nine points to reach 1,000 for his career where he would be the 37th to reach the milestone in school history

Kevin Obanor, RJr., Forward (Houston, Texas)
All-Summit League First Team

  • Only Summit League player to average a double-double per game in the 2020-21 season averaging 18.6 points and 10.0 rebounds, while his 12 double-doubles rank eighth in the country
  • Grabbed a league-leading 220 rebounds to rank 17th in all of college basketball and moved up to 14th in program history totaling 634 career rebounds
  • Posted a league-best 3-point shooting percentage in conference games hitting 50 percent (30-of-60)
  • Earned a Summit League-leading three Player of the Week honors this season and named to the Lou Henson Award mid-season watch list
  • Joined elite company at ORU as he eclipsed the 500 rebound and 1,000 point marks against North Dakota and is one of 18 players in ORU history to reach both milestones

RJ Glasper, RSr., Guard (Forrest City, Ark.)
Summit League All-Newcomer Team

  • Ranks third on the team averaging 11.0 points per game, including a season-best 17 points twice, and started all 18 games before missing time with an injury
  • Has the highest free-throw percentage for the Golden Eagles at 93 percent making 39-of-42
  • Recorded a stretch of nine-straight games with double-digit points from Dec. 20 to Jan. 24
  • Tallied the lowest foul rate in Summit League games showcasing his ability to defend point guards and not foul

News and Notes

  • Abmas is the eighth player of the year in school history (in any conference) and first since Dominique Morrison in 2011-12
  • It’s the ninth time ORU has had two, First Team selections and first in The Summit League since Robert Jarvis and Marcus Lewis earned the honor in 2008-09, while Damen Bell-Holter and Warren Niles were First Team honorees in 2012-13 as members of the Southland Conference
  • As a team, the Golden Eagles lead the NCAA in 3-point field goals made hitting 11.6 per contest and shoot at a 39-percent clip from distance
  • ORU ranks second in the nation making 81.3 percent of free-throw attempts and boasts the league’s highest scoring offense averaging 82.0 points per game

First Team All-League
Max Abmas, Oral Roberts
Rocky Kreuser, North Dakota State
Kevin Obanor, Oral Roberts
A.J. Plitzuweit, South Dakota
Baylor Scheierman, South Dakota State
Stanley Umude, South Dakota

Second Team All-League
Will Carius, Western Illinois
Sam Griesel, North Dakota State
Brandon McKissic, Kansas City
Filip Rebraca, North Dakota
Douglas Wilson, South Dakota State

Honorable Mention All-League
Josiah Allick, Kansas City
Xavier Fuller, South Dakota
Matt Pile, Omaha
Marlon Ruffin, Omaha
Jase Townsend, Denver

All-Newcomer Team
Will Carius, Western Illinois
RJ Glasper, Oral Roberts
Tyree Ihenacho, North Dakota
Grant Nelson, North Dakota State
A.J. Plitzuweit, South Dakota

Player of the Year
Max Abmas, Oral Roberts

Defensive Player of the Year
Brandon McKissic, Kansas City

Sixth Man of the Year
Grant Nelson, North Dakota State

Newcomer of the Year
A.J. Plitzuweit, South Dakota

Freshman of the Year
Tyree Ihenacho, North Dakota

Coach of the Year
Todd Lee, South Dakota

For the latest information on ORU Men’s Basketball, follow the Golden Eagles on Twitter and Instagram, or go to www.ORUAthletics.com. Fans can also receive updates on the team by downloading the ORU Athletics app from the App Store or Google Play Store.