Xavier Musketeers News: J.P. Macura Among BIG EAST Legends That will be Honored At 2024 BIG EAST Men’s Basketball Tournament

By Marisol Nicholson

J.P. Macura (courtesy Xavier Athletic Communications)






Each member school will have one men’s and one women’s basketball legend to be recognized at the conference tournaments in March.


NEW YORK – The BIG EAST Conference on Tuesday announced the creation of the BIG EAST Basketball Legends Recognition Program. Each of the Conference’s 11 member schools were tasked with selecting a former prominent coach or player from both their men’s and women’s programs to be honored at the upcoming BIG EAST Tournaments.  The program will be conducted annually.

“We are excited to launch this annual celebration of former players and coaches who have had profound impacts on the history and success of our 22 basketball programs,” said BIG EAST Commissioner Val Ackerman. “This first group of BIG EAST Legends includes trailblazers as well as more recent stars, all of whom have contributed significantly to their schools and many of whom are part of BIG EAST basketball lore.  We look forward to giving them another big round of applause during our upcoming tournament festivities.”

The first class of BIG EAST Men’s Basketball Legends includes Xavier’s J.P. Macura (2014-18), Butler’s Shelvin Mack (2008-11), UConn’s Chris Smith (1988-92), Creighton’s Randy Eccker (1974-78), DePaul’s Wilson Chandler (2005-07), Georgetown’s Reggie Williams (1983-87), Marquette’s Jerel McNeal (2005-09), Providence’s Ernie DiGregorio (1969-73), St. John’s Marcus Hatten (2001-03), Seton Hall’s Terry Dehere (1989-93) and Villanova’s Randy Foye (2002-06).

Women’s basketball Legends, including Xavier’s Ta’Shia Phillips (2007-11), will be recognized during the BIG EAST Tournament Quarterfinals on March 9 at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn. Men’s basketball Legends will be honored during each team’s first game of the BIG EAST Tournament at Madison Square Garden in New York City, with the First Round on March 13 and Quarterfinals on March 14.

The premier class of BIG EAST Women’s Basketball Legends includes Butler’s Julie VonDielingen Shelton (1989-93), UConn’s Laura Lishness (1987-91), Creighton’s Marissa Janning Murphy (2012-17), DePaul’s Khara Smith (2002-06), Georgetown’s Kris Witfill (1989-93), Marquette’s Allazia Blockton (2015-19), Providence’s Kathy Finn Hill (1980-84), St. John’s Debbie Beckford (1979-83), Seton Hall’s Jodi Brooks (1990-94) and Villanova’s Harry Perretta (1978-2020). Included in the list of honorees are seven former conference players of the year, a four-time BIG EAST Coach of the Year, six All-Americans, an all-time program scoring leader and two all-time school rebounding leaders.

For more on each BIG EAST Legend, click HERE.

COURTESY BIG EAST Conference and Xavier Athletic Communications