Ohio State Football News: Former QB Kirk Herbstreit to be Inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Class of 2023

By Danielle Daniels


Kirk Herbstreit (courtesy IMBD)

PASADENA, Calif. (October 24, 2023) – The Tournament of Roses announced today that ESPN broadcaster Kirk Herbstreit, former Washington offensive lineman Lincoln Kennedy and legendary Columbia quarterback Cliff Montgomery will be inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame as the Class of 2023.

This year’s Rose Bowl Hall of Fame inductees will be honored in the 135th Rose Parade presented by Honda and on the field during the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Rose Bowl Game presented by Prudential on January 1, 2024.

This year’s game will mark the fourth time the Rose Bowl Game has hosted a Playoff Semifinal. It will feature a matchup between two of the top four teams in the country.

The Rose Bowl Hall of Fame was established in 1989 to pay tribute to individuals who have contributed to the history and excitement of the Rose Bowl Game, and those who embody the highest level of passion, strength, tradition, and honor associated with The Granddaddy of Them All.

Kirk Herbstreit has become synonymous with the Rose Bowl Game as he is set to call his 16th edition of The Granddaddy of Them All on New Year’s Day, surpassing Keith Jackson with the most broadcasts in the history of the game. Herbstreit served as the analyst on ABC from 2007 to 2010 and more recently as the analyst on 11 of the last 13 ESPN telecasts. He joined ESPN as an analyst for College GameDay in 1996 and has been ESPN/ABC’s lead analyst since 2006. Herbstreit played football at Ohio State and was a senior captain in 1992, when he was named team MVP.

Lincoln Kennedy started at offensive tackle in three Rose Bowl Games, including wins over Iowa in 1991 and Michigan in 1992, the latter of which earned Washington the national championship. A two-time winner of the Morris Trophy, given to the top lineman in the Pac-10, Kennedy was a unanimous All-American in 1992 and led the Huskies back to their third straight trip to Pasadena for the 1993 Rose Bowl Game. Kennedy went on to be drafted ninth overall in the 1993 NFL Draft and played in the NFL for 11 seasons, including three Pro Bowl selections. He was inducted into the University of Washington Husky Hall of Fame in 2004 and the National Football Foundation Hall of Fame in 2015.

Cliff Montgomery led Columbia to one of the biggest upsets in Rose Bowl Game history as the Lions upset Stanford, 7-0, in the 1934 edition of The Granddaddy of Them All. Montgomery, an All-American in 1933, was named Player of the Game and went on to play in the first College Football All-Star Game. Following graduation, Montgomery played one season of professional football for the Brooklyn Dodgers. He would serve in the military during World War II as a lieutenant commander in the United States Navy. In 1963, he was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Montgomery became a football official and officiated college football for more than 25 years. He passed away in 2005 at the age of 94.

With the addition of this year’s class, the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame includes 143 inductees over its 34-year history. Inductees are honored with a permanent plaque that includes their name and year of induction at The Court of Champions at the Rose Bowl Stadium, they are featured during the Rose Parade® presented by Honda® and are recognized on the field during the Rose Bowl Game presented by Prudential.

About the Pasadena Tournament of Roses 
The Tournament of Roses is a volunteer organization that hosts America’s New Year Celebration with the Rose Parade presented by Honda, the Rose Bowl Game and a variety of accompanying events. The Association’s 935 volunteer members will drive the success of 135th Rose Parade themed Celebrating a World of Music: The Universal Language on Monday, January 1, 2024, followed by the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Rose Bowl Game presented by Prudential.