Miami RedHawks Men’s Basketball News: Lairy, Mabrey and Mirambeaux Earn All-MAC Selections

Anderson Mirambeaux

CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Mid-American Conference announced its 2022-23 men’s basketball All-MAC teams on Wednesday. Three Miami RedHawks were honored, led by fifth-year guard Mekhi Lairy who earned a spot on the All-MAC Third Team. Senior forward Anderson Mirambeaux was named Honorable Mention All-MAC and freshman guard Ryan Mabrey landed on the All-MAC Freshman Team. 

Lairy, who earned third-team All-MAC honors, ranked fourth in the conference with a 17.4 scoring average. He was sixth in assists (4.0), 19th in field goal percentage (47%), first in free throw percentage (91.9%), 20th in three-point percentage (37.4%) and fourth in steals (1.2). He scored in double figures 29 times and recorded three 30-point games this season. Lairy also had a career-high 34 points at Georgia. 

Mirambeaux earned Honorable Mention All-MAC after ranking 18th in the conference with a 14.2 scoring average. He was 10th in rebounds (5.7), 20th in assists (2.6), sixth in field goal percentage (54.2%), 16th in free throw percentage (76.4%) and seventh in blocks (0.9). He scored in double figures 24 times and recorded two double-doubles this season. Mirambeaux also had a career-high 27 points against Evansville in his first game for Miami. 

Mabrey earned All-MAC Freshman Team recognition after ranking fourth on the RedHawks with 8.6 points per contest. He was fifth on the team in assists (1.1), fourth in steals (0.58) and second in free throw percentage (87.5%). Mabrey also ranked 21st in the MAC for three-point field goals per game (1.7). He scored in double figures 13 different times during the 2022-23 campaign and had a season-high 16 points versus Eastern Michigan.

The RedHawks begin postseason play on Thursday, March 9 with a MAC quarterfinal matchup vs. Toledo at Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse in Cleveland, Ohio. Tip time is set for 11 a.m.

Mekhi Lairy
Ryan Mabrey

2022-23 MAC Men’s Basketball Postseason Awards
Coach of the Year: Tod Kowalczyk, Toledo
Player of the Year: RayJ Dennis, Jr., G, Toledo  *unanimous selection*
Freshman of the Year: Reggie Bass, G, Central Michigan
Defensive Player of the Year: Malique Jacobs, R-Sr., G, Kent State
Sixth Man of the Year: Jalen Sullinger, So., G, Kent State
All-MAC First Team
Xavier Castaneda, Sr., G, Akron
Enrique Freeman, Jr., F, Akron
Sincere Carry, R-Sr., G, Kent State
RayJ Dennis, Jr., G, Toledo
JT Shumate, Sr., F, Toledo
All-MAC Second Team
Payton Sparks, So., C, Ball State
Jarron Coleman, R-Jr., G, Ball State
Malique Jacobs, R-Sr., G, Kent State
Setric Millner Jr., Sr., F, Toledo
Dwight Wilson III, Grad., F, Ohio
All-MAC Third Team
Jaylin Sellers, So., G, Ball State
Curtis Jones, So., G, Buffalo
Emoni Bates, So., F, Eastern Michigan
Mekhi Lairy, 5th, G, Miami
David Coit, So., G, Northern Illinois
Honorable Mention
Leon Ayers III, Sr., G, Bowling Green
Anderson Mirambeaux, Sr., F, Miami
Kaleb Thornton, Sr., G, Northern Illinois
Jaylin Hunter, Jr., G, Ohio
Lamar Norman Jr., Sr., G, Western Michigan
All-Freshman Team
Reggie Bass, G, Central Michigan
Ryan Mabrey, G, Miami
AJ Brown, G, Ohio
Elmore James G, Ohio
Seth Hubbard G, Western Michigan
All-Defensive Team
Enrique Freeman, Jr., F, Akron
Greg Tribble, Jr., G, Akron
Damarius Jacobs, Sr., G, Ball State
Malique Jacobs, R-Sr., G, Kent State
Sincere Carry, R-Sr., G, Kent State