Taylor Mikesell signaling for the ball (courtesy Ohio State Athletic Communications)

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches’ Association (WBCA) announced the 10 midseason watch-list candidates for the 2023 Ann Meyers-Drysdale Award a month ago with senior guard Taylor Mikesell being on the list.

Named after the first player, male or female, selection to an All-American team in four-straight college seasons, the award is in its sixth year of recognizing the top shooting guard in NCAA Division I women’s basketball. Fans are encouraged to vote in each round, with the voting for this round beginning on Friday.

Mikesell, one of five finalists for the Ann Meyers-Drysdale Award last season, was selected to the Ann Meyers-Drysdale Preseason Watch List this season. Mikesell was also selected to the Preseason All-Big Ten team by both the coaches (unanimous) and the media as well as the Naismith Trophy Preseason Women’s Watch List and Wooden Award Preseason and midseason top-25 Watch Lists. She earned Big Ten Player of the Week honors on Jan. 9 and was on the weekly honor roll on Dec. 5.

Mikesell scored her 2,000th career point on Jan. 26 at Indiana and currently has 986 points as a Buckeye, despite this being just her second season in the Scarlet & Gray. Mikesell is averaging 18.3 points per game as a Buckeye and leads the team with 17.7 points per game this season. She is averaging 18.3 points per game during conference play and is second in the conference with 3.0 triples per game. Mikesell is tied for ninth in program history with 181 three-pointers as a Buckeye and recently surpassed 400 career three-pointers.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Meyers Drysdale and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The Selection Committee for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.

The winner of the 2023 Meyers Drysdale Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the four other members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Award (Point Guard), Cheryl Miller Award (Small Forward), the Katrina McClain Award (Power Forward) and the Lisa Leslie Award (Center), in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.