Western & Sourthern Open News: MORNING BRIEFING: Monday August 15

MONDAY, AUG. 15, 2022

Events Schedule

1:00 – Maria Sakkari signing autographs at the Western & Southern booth

3:00 – Felix Auger-Aliassime signing autographs at the Western & Southern booth

5:30 – Pups and Players in the Grand Courtyard

Three Things to Know

1) There are 10 returning Western & Southern Open champions in the fields – 5 men and 5 women. A pair of two-time champions – Victoria Azarenka and Andy Murray – headline Monday’s order of play. 

2) Taking the court Monday are a pair of players who will equal the WTA tournament record for Western & Southern Open appearances. Former US Open champion Sloane Stephens and two-time Wimbledon winner Petra Kvitova will join Caroline Wozniacki in playing the event 11 times.

3) Ranked No. 87 in his first main draw in Cincinnati in 2017, Frances Tiafoe upset world No. 7 Alexander Zverev to reach the third round. He’ll have to pull off another upset to get by No. 14 Matteo Berrettini in the first round.

Fun Fact

On Sunday, 17-year-old Eleana Yu of Mason, Ohio won the singles title at the USTA Billie Jean King Girls’ 18s National Championships in San Diego, earning a wild card into the main draw of the US Open. She may soon join Cincinnati pros like Caty McNally and JJ Wolf in the Western & Southern Open field. Wolf and McNally will both play their hometown event Monday on the Porsche Court.


CENTER COURT starts at 11:00 AM

WTA – Elena Rybakina vs. Mayar Sherif

WTA – Amanda Anisimova vs. [9] Daria Kasatkina

ATP – Stan Wawrinka vs. Andy Murray

Night session – not before 7:00 PM

ATP – [12] Matteo Berrettini vs. Frances Tiafoe

Not before 8:30 PM

WTA – [WC] Sloane Stephens vs. Alize Cornet

GRANDSTAND starts at 11:00 AM

ATP – Alex Molcan vs. [13] Diego Schwartzman

ATP – Benjamin Bonzi vs. John Isner

Not before 3:00 PM

WTA – Jil Teichmann vs. Petra Kvitova

Night session – not before 7:00 PM

WTA – Kaia Kanepi vs. Victoria Azarenka

Not before 8:30 PM

ATP – Denis Shapovalov vs. [16] Grigor Dimitrov

STADIUM 3 starts at 11:00 AM

ATP – [15] Roberto Bautista Agut vs. Francisco Cerundolo

ATP – Holger Rune vs. [9] Cameron Norrie

WTA – [13] Leylah Fernanez vs. Ekaterina Alexandrova

ATP – Karen Khachanov vs. Sebastian Korda

WTA – [Q] Taylor Townsend vs [Q] Ajla Tomljanovic

PORSCHE COURT starts at 11:00 AM

ATP – Asian Karatsev vs. Brandon Nakashima

ATP – Emil Ruusuvuori vs. [WC] J.J. Wolf

WTA – [WC] Caty McNally vs. Aliaksandra Sasnovich

WTA – [Q] Tereza Martincova vs [LL] Nuria Parrizas Diaz

Not before 5:00 PM 

WTA – [Q] Carolina Garcia vs. [LL] Petra Martic 

COURT 4 starts at 11:00 AM

WTA – Barbora Krejcikova vs. Veronika Kudermetova 

Not before 12:30 PM 

WTA – Sara Sorribes Tormo vs. Alison Riske-Amritraj 

ATP – [14] Marin Cilic vs. [Q] Jaume Munar

ATP – [Q] Marcos Giron vs [Q] David Goffin

COURT 7 starts at 11:00 AM

WTA – Eri Hozumi / Makoto Ninomiya vs. Irina-Camelia Begu / Martina Trevisan 

WTA – [8] Yifan Xu / Zhaoxuan Yang vs. Natela Dzalamidze / Monica Niculescu 

WTA – [6] Desirae Krawczyk / Demi Schuurs vs Aleksandra Krunic / Magda Linette 

After suitable rest 

WTA [SR] Kirsten Flipkens / Sara Sorribes Tormo vs. [7] Lyudmyla Kichenok / Jelena Ostapenko 

WTA – Marie Bouzkova / Laura Siegemund vs. Alicja Rosolska / Erin Routliffe

COURT 11 starts at 1:00 PM

ATP – Jamie Murray / Bruno Soares vs. [8] Juan Sebastian Cabal / Rorbert Farah 

Not before 2:30 PM

ATP – Thanasi Kokkinakis / Nick Kyrgios vs. Simone Bolelli / Fabio Fognini 

After suitable rest, not before 4 PM

ATP – Cameron Norrie / Alex De Minaur vs. [7] Ivan Dodig / Austin Krajicek 

NOTE: On account of a number of factors related to scheduling, the Serena Williams-Emma Raducanu match will now be held on Tuesday.


NHL News: Warren Strelow Named 2022 Lester Patrick Trophy Honoree