Ohio State Buckeyes: Grade A! Football Team Earns Academic Honor

Four consecutive semesters with a team GPA of at least 3.00

Fri, May 28, 2021

COLUMBUS, Ohio – It’s been a good couple of years academically for the Ohio State football program under the leadership of head coach Ryan Day. And things got better today.

Day’s football program was honored today by the Varsity O Alumni Society with its “most improved large team grade point average” award. It is one of four team academic awards the Varsity O presents each year, along with two scholarships.

·       The top large team grade point average (GPA) award went to the women’s hockey program (coached by Nadine Muzerall);

·       The most improved small team GPA award went to the women’s basketball program (Kevin McGuff); and

·       The top small team GPA award went to the men’s golf program (Jay Moseley).

The football team has had four consecutive semesters under Day with a team cumulative GPA of at least 3.00, including a 3.206 cumulative GPA in autumn 2020 and a 3.347 GPA in spring of 2020.

Additional academic achievements for the program during this time include:

·       A program record 61 student-athletes, including 44 scholarship players, named an OSU Scholar-Athlete for having a cumulative GPA of 3.00 and above for the 2020-21 academic year;

·       A program record 40 named Academic All-Big Ten Conference this past season; this honor is open to those who have been enrolled for at least a full year and carry a cumulative 3.00 grade point average;

·       A cumulative GPA for this spring semester of 3.05; and

·       A current GPA for all scholarship players on the cusp of 3.00: 2.998.

2020-21 OSU Scholar-Athletes

#Indicates 2020 Academic All-Big Ten honoree

#QB J.P. Andrade, Sophomore – Business (2nd award)  

#WR Kamryn Babb, Junior – Communication (3rd)

#SA Ryan Batsch, Junior – Finance (3rd)

#WR Christopher Booker, Senior – Psychology (1st)

#LB Tuf Borland, Graduated – Sports Coaching (5th)

#RB Steele Chambers, Sophomore – Finance (2nd)

#OL Gavin Cupp, Senior, Kinesiology (5th)

WR Marvin Davies, Freshman – Exercise Science Education (1st)

#DB Kevin Dever, Senior – Finance (4th)

#LB Tommy Eichenberg, Sophomore – Business (2nd)

#TE Luke Farrell, Graduated – Human Development & Family Science (4th)

OL Joshua Fryar, Freshman – Communication (1st)

#LB Dallas Gant, Senior – Finance (3rd)

OL Patrick Gurd, Freshman – Arts & Sciences-Undecided (1st)

#DL Zaid Hamdan, Senior – Criminology & Criminal Justice (2nd)

DT Ty Hamilton, Freshman – Management & Industry Exploring (1st)

DE Zachary Harrison, Junior – Psychology (1st)

#PK Blake Haubeil, Graduated – Communication (4th)

#TE Jacob Hausmann, Graduated – Health Care Innovation (5th)

#LB Justin Hilliard, Graduated – Consumer Science (4th)

#LB Gunnar Hoak, Graduated – Sports Coaching (2nd)

#OL Ryan Jacoby, Junior – Hospitality Management (1st)

OL Jakob James, Freshman – Management & Industry Exploring (1st)

#OL Jack Jamieson, Junior – Finance (3rd)

OL Paris Johnson, Sophomore – Journalism (1st)

#LB Cade Kacherski, Junior – Finance (3rd)

DB Cameron Kittle, Freshman – Air Transportation (1st)

#DL Chris Kuhn, Junior – Construction Systems Management (3rd)

#QB Jagger LaRoe, Junior – Marketing (2nd)

OL Trey Leroux, Sophomore – Management & Industry Exploring (1st)

CB Cameron Martinez, Freshman – Psychology (1st)

#LS Roen McCullough, Junior – Finance (3rd)

DT Jaden McKenzie, Sophomore – Management & Industry Exploring (1st)

#OL Harry Miller, Sophomore – Mechanical Engineering (2nd)

#LB Teradja Mitchell, Junior – Fashion and Retail Studies (2nd)

#PU Michael O’Shaughnessy, Sophomore – Consumer and Family Financial Services (1st)

OT Nicholas Petit-Frere, Junior – Marketing (1st)

#DL Noah Potter, Junior, Economics (2nd)

SA Lathan Ransom, Freshman – Communication (1st)

TE Corey Rau, Senior – Sports Coaching (1st)

#LS Bradley Robinson, Graduated – Human Nutrition (4th)

#TE Mitchell Rossi, Senior – Finance (4th)

TE Joseph Royer, Freshman – Sport Industry (1st)

#TE Jeremy Ruckert, Junior – Human Development & Family Science (3rd)

PK Jacob Seibert, Freshman – Finance (1st)

#SA Bryson Shaw, Sophomore – Political Science (2nd)

LB Cody Simon, Freshman – Finance (1st)

#OL Ryan Smith, Sophomore – Sport Industry (2nd)

DE Tyreke Smith, Junior – Sport Industry (3rd)

#OL Zach Stevenson, Sophomore – Medical Laboratory Science (2nd)

#RB Master Teague, Senior – Communication (2nd)

DT Jacolbe Cowan, Sophomore – Management & Industry Exploring (1st)

OL Grant Toutant, Freshman – Science & Technology Exploration (1st)

#QB Daniel Vanatsky, Junior – English (2nd)

#DT Taron Vincent, Junior – Sport Industry (3rd)

DB Ryan Watts, Sophomore – Pre-Communications (1st)

SA Kourt Williams, Sophomore – Management & Industry Exploring (1st)

RB Miyan Williams, Freshman – Human Development & Family Science (1st)

#CB Marcus Williamson, Graduated  – Public Management (4th)

#OL Max Wray, Senior – Communication (1st)

OC Luke Wypler, Sophomore – Management & Industry Exploring (1st)


The People. The Tradition. The Excellence.