Your network for multiple sports and entertainment

High School Bounce

2019-2020 High School Bounce

Check back in the coming weeks for game schedules and times.

Click Here for Game

Click here for season schedule and archived games.

What We Cover

Today is

September 2020
« Aug    

Posts Tagged ‘Los Angeles Athletic Club.’

Kentucky’s Davis wins Wooden Award


Anthony Davis (courtesy of Kentucky athletics)

Kentucky freshman Anthony Davis is the 2012 winner of the John Wooden Award honoring the nation’s best college player.

He is the second freshman to win the award, joining Kevin Durant of Texas in 2007, who was the first to do it.

Hall of Fame coach John Wooden, who died in 2010 at age 99, was represented by his grandson, Greg, who presented the award on behalf of the Los Angeles Athletic Club.



Info compiled from Wooden Award, Kentucky athletics, Radio & TV news


Wooden preseason list has 3 Buckeyes


William Buford (file photo)

The Ohio State men’s basketball team has three of its players included on the Los Angeles Athletic Club’s preseason list of 50 candidates for the Wooden Award.

The three are William Buford, Aaron Craft and Jared Sullinger.

Sullinger was a finalist for the player of the year award last season as a freshman.

The winner will be announced April 8.

Info courtesy of Ohio State athletics

Awards piling up for Sullinger; named to Wooden Team


John Wooden (Indiana State photo)

Evan Turner of Ohio State won the Wooden Award last year and Jared Sullinger has a chance to win it this year.

The top five vote-getters will be invited to Los Angeles for the John Wooden Award trophy presentation on April 8.

Ohio State freshman star Jared Sullinger was named to the 10-man Wooden Award All-American team by the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

Joining Sullinger on the team are: Derrick Williams of Arizona, Jimmer Fredette of BYU, Kemba Walker of UConn, Ben Hansbrough of Notre Dame, Nolan Smith of Duke, JaJuan Johnson of Purdue, Jacob Pullen of Kansas State, Kawhi Leonard of San Diego State and Marcus Morris of Kansas.



The Awards keep piling up for Evan Turner; wins Wooden Award

compiled from staff and wire reports

Evan Turner said he was hoping for at least on award when the postseason came around. But he’s winning everyone imaginable!

Friday at the Los Angeles Athletic Club, Evan Turner was awarded the John R. Wooden Award.

He was chosen over John Wall of Kentucky, Wesley Johnson of Syracuse, Da’Sean Butler of West Virginia and Kansas guard Sherron Collins for the 34th Wooden Award.

Evan Turner (osu)

Evan Turner is by far the consensus player of the year. He has won The Associated Press player of the year award and the Naismith Award, basically making a clean sweep of the sport’s top prizes after his standout season with the Buckeyes.

The Big Ten’s player of the year averaged 20.4 points, 9.2 rebounds and 6.0 assists while making more than 52 percent of his shots and leading Ohio State (29-8) to the NCAA tournament’s regional semifinals.