Your network for multiple sports and entertainment

High School Bounce

2019-2020 High School Bounce

Check back in the coming weeks for game schedules and times.

Click Here for Game

Click here for season schedule and archived games.

What We Cover

Today is

October 2020
« Sep    

Posts Tagged ‘Lombardi Award.’

Cincinnati St. Xavier grad Kuechly wins Lott Award


Luke Kuechly (courtesy of Boston College athletics)

The 2011 Ronnie Lott Award came down to four finalists: Emmanuel Acho of Texas, Dont’a Hightower from Alabama, Manti Te’o of Notre Dame and Boston College’s Luke Kuechly. Most felt that Acho and Hightower would win.

The winner is Boston College linebacker Luke Kuechly. The award is named after the Pro Football Hall of Fame defensive back, who played like a linebacker.

The award honors on-field performance and personnel character among defensive players.

Kuechly, a native of Cincinnati and a graduate of St. Xavier High School, also won the Butkus and Lombardi awards as the nation’s top linebacker.


Info compiled from Boston College athletics, Radio & TV news

OSU’s Cameron Heyward selected 31st overall by Steelers


Cameron Heyward (file photo)

As expected, former Ohio State defensive lineman Cameron Heyward was selected 31st overall by the Pittsburgh Steelers Thursday night in the 2011 NFL Draft at Radio City Music Hall in New York City.

Heyward is the 69th Buckeye overall to be drafted in the first round and the 17th since 2000, the second most among FBS schools during that time. He also is the 74th Buckeyes to be drafted overall since 2000, the most among any FBS school. He is the 14th first-round pick in the Jim Tressel era.

Rounds 2-3 continue Friday evening beginning at 6 p.m. ET while rounds 4-7 will take place Saturday beginning at noon.

Heyward was a Playboy All-American, a Lombardi Award semifinalist and a Lott Trophy quarterfinalist in 2010. A first team all-Big Ten selection by both coaches and the media in 2010, Heyward started 46 career games, totaling 163 tackles, 37.5 TFL and 15.5 sacks.

At the Ohio State football banquet in December, Heyward was awarded the Bill Willis Trophy from the coaches as the team’s outstanding defensive player in helping the Buckeyes defense rank among the national leaders in several stat categories.


Info courtesy of Ohio State athletics

Fairley named Lombardi Award winner

Nick Fairley (Auburn media guide photo)

The 2010 Lombardi Award winner is Auburn University defensive tackle Nick Fairley.

The 6’5, 298-pound Fairley has been a beast for offensive lines all season long.

The Lombardi Award is awarded to the nation’s top lineman.

Fairley has 10 1/2 sacks on the season.

Info courtesy of Auburn University athletics

Greg Jones of Michigan State and Ohio State’s Terrelle Pryor repeat as Big Ten Preseason Players of the Year

For the second year in a row, Michigan State’s Greg Jones and Ohio State’s Terrelle Pryor have been selected as the Big Ten Conference Preseason Defensive and Offensive Players of the year, respectively.

The Preseason Players of the Year and poll were voted on by members of the media attending the conference’s football kickoff preview.

This year marks the first since 1998 that the Big Ten’s Preseason Defensive and Offensive Players of the year have been repeat selections from the previous year. Ohio State’s Andy Katzenmoyer (defense) and Wisconsin’s Ron Dayne (offense) are the only other pair of players to accomplish the feat since st least 1996. Jones is the first back-to-back Preseason Defensive Player of the Year since Ohio State’s James Laurinaitis in 2007 and 2008, and Pryor is the first player to repeat as Preseason Offensive Player of the Year since Ron Dayne earned the honor in 1997, 1998 and 1999.

Greg Jones (Michigan State photo)

Jones was selected the Big Ten’s Defensive Player of the Year in 2009 and was a first-team All-Conference pick. A consensus All-American in 2009, the senior linebacker is on the preseason watch lists for the Butkus, Lombardi and Nagurski Awards and the Ronnie Lott Trophy. As a junior, Jones led the Big Ten and ranked third in the nation with 11.8 tackles per game and was fifth in the Big Ten with nine sacks for 53 yards. His 154 tackles last season were the seventh-highest total in Michigan State football program history.

Terrelle Pryor (OSU photo)

Pryor has accomplished a great deal in his first two years with the Buckeyes. He has guided Ohio State to two Big Ten Championships and two Bowl Championship Series games. He was named the Offensive Most Valuable Player of the 2010 Rose Bowl Game. In 2009, he completed 167 of 295 passes for 2,094 yards and 18 touchdowns and led Ohio State with 779 rushing yards. In just two seasons, Pryor already ranks 11th among Ohio State’s career total offense leaders with 4,808 yards.