Your network for multiple sports and entertainment

High School Bounce

2019-2020 High School Bounce

Check back in the coming weeks for game schedules and times.

Click Here for Game

Click here for season schedule and archived games.

What We Cover

Today is

October 2020
« Sep    

Posts Tagged ‘Greg Biffle.’


This week the NASCAR Sprint Cup series goes to the Dallas suburb of Ft. Worth and the Samsung Mobile 500 on Fox. The race will start at 1 p.m. The race will go 334 laps or 501 miles.

The track has several characteristics. A fast 1.5-mile track made faster by improvements to the turns and the asphalt surface since its opening in 1997.

With a 138,122 seating capacity, Texas Motor Speedway is the largest sports facility in the state of Texas.

The Texas Motor Speedway had 12 different winners in its first 12 Cup races and did have a multiple winner until Jeff Burton, winner of the first race in 1997, won the spring race in 2007.

Texas Motor Speedway (file)

In recapping the 2009 Samsung 500, Jeff Gordon ended a 47-race winless streak, leading 105 laps to edge teammate Jimmie Johnson. Greg Biffle, Tony Stewart and Matt Kenseth rounded ou the top five. Carl Edwards seemed poised to win, but a dropped lug nut on his final pit stop relegated him to 10th.

Ryan Newman breaks winless race streak; wins Phoenix

compiled from staff and wire reports

Ryan Newman (NASCAR)

Believe it or not, but the first race car driver to offer a handshake to Ryan Newman in Victory Lane was Tony Stewart. Stewart usually doesn’t do that, but Newman is one of his guys.

The win helped Newman break a 77-race Sprint Cup winless streak.

Newman took the lead after a late caution at Phoenix International Raceway and held off Jeff Gordon in a two-lap shootout Saturday night to get his first victory since the 2008 Daytona 500, and first since joining Stewart’s new team last season.

Kyle Busch was cruising to what would have given him a weekend sweep when a caution flag came out with three laps remaining. When the lead-lap cars pitted, Busch took four tires and came out eighth, behind six cars that took only two tires and Jimmie Johnson, who also took four and was seventh out of the pits.

Gordon, however beat everybody out of the pits, but unfortunately spun his tires on the restart in a green-white-checkered finish. Newman then charged inside and took the lead, and held on for the win.

Newman, driving the number 39 Chevrolet owned by Stewart, had led only two laps before the final two. That lead came during the first caution only 21 laps into what became a 378-lap race, instead of the scheduled 375, already 63 more than last spring at Phoenix, which is an oddly shaped mile track in the desert.

It was  Newman’s 14th career victory in 303 starts, but the first time a number 39 car has been to Victory Lane in 286 races.

Jimmie Johnson, who had won four of the previous five races at Phoenix, finished third and increased his series points lead from 14 to 36 over Matt Kenseth. Greg Biffle had been second in points before finishing 22nd saturday night, the first time this season he wasn’t in the top 10.

Denny Hamlin, racing only 10 days after surgery to repair the torn ACL in his left knee, drove the entire race and finished 30th. He had moved up to 13th before an extended pit stop to repair damage from being hit and to address an electrical problem.

Newman snapped Hendrick Motorsports’ string of six consecutive victories at Phoenix, and gave Chevrolet its 10th straight win at the track. Chevy drivers had the top five spots, with Mark Martin fourth and Juan Pablo Montoya fifth.

Jimmie Johnson finally wins at Bristol Motor Speedway

compiled from staff and wire reports

Bristol Motor Speedway in Tennessee is called the “Bullring” because of its throwback-style of racing. A majority of the drivers in NASCAR like the old track with the exception of Jimmie Johnson.

Jimmie Johnson up until Sunday had never won there and never said it was his favorite tracks.

The four-time defending NASCAR champion can now add Bristol to his “wins” list as he worked his way from sixth to first place in just three laps to win for the 50th victory in his career.

Johnson became only the 12th driver in NASCAR history to win 50 races. He reached the milestone in his 296th start, and there are only three drivers who accomplished this faster: Jeff Gordon (232), Darrell Waltrip (278) and David Pearson (293).

Jimmie Johnson (NASCAR)

With 10 laps to go, Johnson was trying to figure out a way to catch Kurt Busch. Busch led 278 of the 500 laps and had a nice lead on Johnson when a debris caution came out with 17 laps to go. All leaders in the race headed to pit road, and Busch and Johnson took four tires on the final stop.

Greg Biffle, Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth and Tony Stewart all took two tires, giving them the first four positions on the race restart. Busch was fifth and Johnson was sixth with the race resuming with 10 laps tos go. Johnson started to move to the top as he moved past Tony Stewart at the end. Kurt Busch finished 3rd.

McMurray Wins Daytona 500

Jamie McMurray (Nascar)

By Nancy Mason

MSN Staff Writer

Jamie McMurray, who had a very trying off season, held off Dale Earnhardt, Jr. to win the 2010 Daytona 500 in a thrilling finish. The Super Bowl of Nascar races, needed two stoppages that totaled more than two hours to patch a nagging pothole between turns 1 and 2 of Daytona International Speedway.

Nascar officials had hoped that the season-opening race would help re-energize the industry. But those delays sent NASCAR chairman Brian France into the broadcast booth to calm angry fans and to prevent a total fallout.

It was McMurray’s first race back with Chip Ganassi and Felix Sabates, who game him his Sprint Cup Series shot in 2002. Jamie left and spent four frustrating and miserable seasons with Roush Fenway Racing, then lost his ride at the end of 2009 when NASCAR forced Roush to drop a team to meet its four-car limit.

McMurray had to work hard to rejoin Ganassi, and the effort included persuading sponsor Bass Pro Shops owner Johnny Morris to move with him.

Finishing third was Greg Biffle driving a Ford. The top 2, Jamie McMurray and second place finisher Dale Earnhardt, Jr. drove Chevrolets.

 Page 7 of 7  « First  ... « 3  4  5  6  7