Your network for multiple sports and entertainment

High School Bounce

2015-2016 High School Bounce

High School Bounce marks its sixth season this year! Check back in the coming weeks for game schedules and times.

Click Here for Game

Click here for season schedule and archived games.

What We Cover

Today is

December 2018
« Nov    

Posts Tagged ‘Ernie Lombardi.’

Reds’ Votto received 2010 Lou Marsh Award during Toronto series

Joey Votto heads to dugout after receiving Lou Marsh Award ( photo)

In on-the-field ceremonies prior to Saturday night’s game against his boyhood team, the Toronto Blue Jays, Cincinnati Reds 1B Joey Votto received the Lou Marsh Award as the 2010 Canadian Athlete of the Year.

The award is given annually to recognize Canada’s most outstanding athlete across all sports and was named in honor of Lou Marsh, a prominent athlete, referee and former sports editor of the Toronto Star at the turn of the 20th century.

The 2010 National League MVP, Votto hit .324 with 37 home runs, 113 RBI’s and 16 stolen bases in leading the Reds to the Central Division championship. The left-handed hitting all-star ranked among the league’s Top 3 in 11 statistical categories, in the Top 5 in 15 categories and among the Top 8 in 18 categories.

He led the Major Leagues in on-base percentage (.424) and hitting on the road (.349) and led the NL in slugging percentage (.600), hitting vs. right-handed pitching (.347), RBI ratio (4.8 at bats) and OPS (1.024). Among the NL batters in the prestigious Triple Crown categories he ranked second in hitting and third in both homers and RBI’s.

The National League and Sporting News All-Star received the Hank Aaron Award as the NL’s best hitter, the Ernie Lombardi Award as the Reds MVP and the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame’s Tip O’Neill Award while being named Ontario Sports Legend Hall of Fame Athlete of the Year, QMI Agency Canadian Male Athlete of the Year, George Gross/Toronto Sun Sportsperson of the Year and Postmedia News Canadian Male Athlete of the Year.

Votto was ranked #1 in the Toronto Sun’s 2010 list of influential Canadian’s in baseball.

Only three Canadian-born baseball players have ever won the Lou Marsh Award, Votto, Larry Walker in 1998 and Ferguson Jenkins in 1974.

Other Marsh Award winners include: Sidney Crosby of hockey in 2007, 2009; Chantal Petitclerc of wheelchair racing in 2008; Cindy Klassen, speed skater in 2006; Steve Nash of basketball in 2005; Mario Lemieux of hockey in 1993 and Wayne Gretzky, who has won it a record four times.


Reds Votto wins National League MVP award over Pujols

Joey Votto (file photo)

Reds 1B Joey Votto at bat (file photo)

Cincinnati Reds first baseman Joey Votto was a surprise MVP selection in the National League.

He was an overwhelmingly popular choice ending the two-year reign by St. Louis Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols.

Votto, who helped Cincinnati reach the postseason for the first time in 15 years, received 31 of 32 first-place votes and 443 points in the voting which was announced by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Votto was on the NL All-Star for the first time in 2010, finished second in the league in batting average at .324 and third in homers (37) and RBI’s (113). He led the National League in slugging percentage (.600) and was the Major League leader in on-base percentage (.424).

Born in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Votto becomes the third Canadian-born MVP, following Larry Walker of Colorado in 1997 and Justin Morneau of Minnesota in 2006.

Votto’s salary of $525,000 is sure to go up as he is eligible for arbitration for the first time in his career.

The soft-spoken Canadian joins several Reds players who have won National League MVP honors: Ernie Lombardi (1938), Bucky Walters (1939), Frank McCormick (1940), Frank Robinson (1961), Johnny Bench (1970 & 1972), Pete Rose (1973), Joe Morgan (1975 & 1976), George Foster (1977) and Barry Larkin (1995). The Cincinnati Reds’ 12 Most Valuable Player awards are tied with the Giants for second in the NL behind the Cardinals (17). In the American League, the New York Yankees have 20.

Balloting was done at the end of the regular season.

Pujols, first baseman for the St. Louis Cardinals, was second with the remaining first-place vote and 279 points. He won the award in 2005, 2008 and 2009. He hit .312 and led the NL in homers (42) and RBI’s (118).

Colorado’s Carlos Gonzalez, who won the NL batting title was third with 240 points, San Diego’s Adrian Gonzalex was fourth with 197 points, Troy Tuluwitzki of Colorado was fifth with 132 points and Roy Halladay, pitcher for Philadelphia was sixth with 130 points.

compiled from MLB & Cincinnati Reds news