Your network for multiple sports and entertainment

High School Bounce

2019-2020 High School Bounce

Check back in the coming weeks for game schedules and times.

Click Here for Game

Click here for season schedule and archived games.

What We Cover

Today is

June 2020
« May    

Posts Tagged ‘Clint Bowyer.’

NASCAR PREVIEW: RACE #18 New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Sunday June 27


This coming Sunday, the NASCAR Sprint Cup series will be moving to the “Magic Mile” the New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Loudon, New Hampshire.

Loudon was incorporated in 1773 by John Campbell, a 4th Earl of Loudon. The town has a population of 4,481.

The racetrack is a 1.058 mile oval which has 301 laps or 318.46 miles and seating capacity is 93,521.

New Hampshire Motor Speedway (Speedway Motorsports Inc.)

Sunday’s race is the LENOX INDUSTRIAL TOOLS 301.

This is the Sprint Cup’s northern-most destiny on the circuit. New Hampshire has long straightaways and tight corners. In 2002, the lower apron was widened, providing an additional racing groove.

Clint Bowyer, Robby Gordon, Joe Nemechek and Ryan Newman each got their first Cup Series win at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Four of Jeff Burton’s 19 cup wins have come in New Hampshire from 1997 to 2000.

The 2009 Lenox Industrial Tools 301 went to Joey Logano who led the final 10 laps to earn his first Cup Series victory, in a race shortened by rain. Jeff Gordon, Kurt Busch, David Reutimann and pole-sitter Tony Stewart rounded out the top five.

By winning in 2009, Joey Logano became the youngest winner in Sprint Cup history at 19 years, 1 month and 4 days.

The next race is the Coke Zero 400, July 3, in Daytona, Florida at the Daytona International Speedway.


Kevin Harvick       2,334

Jimmie Johnson  2,194

Kyle Busch              2,193

Denny Hamlin       2,183

Jeff Gordon            2,142

Pocono 500 Pole goes to Kyle Busch

compiled from staff, wire and NASCAR news

Kyle Busch will start his 200th career Sprint Cup race from the pole position.

Winner of two of the last four races, Busch turned a lap at 169.485 mph Friday to win the pole for Sunday’s NASCAR race at Pocono Raceway in Long Pond, Pennsylvania and extend his midseason hot streak which catapulted him to second in the points standings.

Kyle Busch (nascar)

Busch is a driver that most NASCAR fans hate because of his attitudewill be trying to use his pole position into a respectable finish or even a win. His best finish at Pocono is fourth in 2005, and he hasn’t finished higher than 16th over the last two years.

Busch won his second pole of 2010, claiming victory at Richmond last month after starting number 1.

Clint Bowyer will start second and Dale Earnhardt, Jr., will start third.

Kyle Busch has had quite a six-race stretch that has seen his season go from 12th in the points standings to second, due to a third-place finish last week to put him 29 points behind leader Kevin Harvick.

Kyle Busch wins Nationwide race at Dover International Speedway

compiled from staff, wire and NASCAR reports

Kyle Busch won the Nationwide Series race at Dover on Saturday, a day after he ran out of fuel at the end of the Truck Series race.

Busch won from the pole in a race that needed a green-white checkered finish.

The final laps were slowed by wrecks, including one where Clint Bowyer intentionally hit Denny Hamlin in retaliation for an earlier accident. Bowyer was immediatley parked and ordered straight to the NASCAR hauler headquarters.

Kyle Busch (nascar)

The race was red flagged for 11 minutes, 43 seconds with less than 10 laps remaining after an accident left fluid and debris all over the track.

The top four after Kyle Busch include: Ryan Newman, Jamie McMurray, Reed Sorenson and Jason Leffler.

Kevin Harvick finally gets back to the winners circle a 115 race drought

compiled from staff and wire reports

Kevin Harvick was very relieved to finally be in Victory Lane.

Harvick used a last-second pass of Jamie McMurray to snap a 115-race winless streak Sunday at Talladega Superspeedway, where he closed out a dramatic week for his race team. Shell Oil Company told Richard Childress Racing during the week that it was removing its sponsorship at the end of the season,  hurrying the company into a search to find funding to offer Harvick a contract extension.

Kevin Harvick (nascar)

Harvick, who won the 2007 season-opening Daytona 500 in his first race with Shell, couldn’t help but be full of delight at the timing. He knows if he starts to win again, the sponsors will gladly line up to offer money.

Harvick said his crew chief Gil Martin told him how to go about getting into the lead if he was bunched in heavy traffic.

Harvick lurked around in traffic, looking for a way to move up to second place as the race was winding to a close. The plan was to make on last attempt at the lead. He made up his mind to go for it. He made his decision to take the lead 500 yards from the finish line by sliding inside of Jamie Mc Murray then drag-race him to the finish.

The win came in the longest Talladega race in Sprint Cup history. Because NASCAR’s new overtime rule allows for three attempts at its version of overtime, the race went 12 laps past the scheduled distance of 188 trips around the 2.66-mile speedway.

It covered a record 88 lead changes among a record 29 drivers.

Jamie McMurray, the 2010 Daytona 500 winner after winning the October race at  Talladega, was seeking his third straight restrictor- plate win, he stretched his fuel tank to the bitter end while racing wide-open to the finish.

Harvick’s Cup win was the first victory at Talledega for team owner Richard Childress since October 2000 in what came to be the final win for the late Dale Earnhardt’s career.

The rest of the field finished this way: Juan Pablo Montoya, third; Denny Hamlin was fourth, and was followed in order by Mark Martin, David Ragan and Clint Bowyer. Kurt Busch was eighth, while Kyle Busch and Mike Bliss round out the top 10.

Jimmie Johnson wins Shelby American at Las Vegas

Everybody on the NASCAR Sprint Cup circuit says that Jimmie Johnson is lucky. Sure he was lucky to win at Fontana, Calif., the week before. But at the Las Vegas Speedway on Sunday, luck had nothing to do with his victory.

The only luck is that Johnson has the best crew chief in the sport today, Chad Knaus.

Hendrick Motorsports teammate Jeff Gordon had the best car. Johnson had the best man in the pits, Chad Knaus.

Gordon and his number 24 Chevy had the field at his feet and should’ve won the race. He looked like the Jeff Gordon of old, say a decade ago, lapping cars and led all but 48 of the 267 laps, the most laps ever led in the event.

But on the key spit stop, the Spring Cup defending champion made the right call. Jeff Gordon and his 24 crew didn’t.

Gordon came into the pits first, and Johnson was second. Steve Latarte, Gordon’s crew chief, elected to take only the right-side tires. Knaus decided for four tires.

Gordon restarted second with 34 laps to go. Clint Bowyer was first because he didn’t pit. Johnson restarted fourth. It took a few laps, but Jimmie Johnson with the newer tires enabled him to pass Gordon down low with 17 laps to go. The number 48 car went to the front, and the race was over. Gordon finished third, being passed for second by Kevin Harvick, the points leader after three races.

Jeff Gordon said he talked to Steve Latarte afterwards. “He was pretty upset,” Gordon said. “But I felt like two tires was the right call, too.”

The NASCAR season moves into week 4 next weekend as the Kobalt Tools 500 will be at the Atlanta Motor Speedway in Hampton, Ga., a 1 p.m. start and 2009 winner Kurt Busch defending his title.

Jimmie Johnson wins again (AP)

 Page 8 of 8  « First  ... « 4  5  6  7  8