Your network for multiple sports and entertainment

High School Bounce

2019-2020 High School Bounce

Check back in the coming weeks for game schedules and times.

Click Here for Game

Click here for season schedule and archived games.

What We Cover

Today is

October 2020
« Sep    

Posts Tagged ‘Chicagoland Speedway.’

Kyle Busch wins Nationwide race at Chicagoland

compiled from staff, wire and NASCAR Nationwide news

Kyle Busch realizes that he won Friday night’s NASCAR Nationwide series race at Chicagoland Speedway because of a mistake by Brad Keselowski.

With Joey Logano leading the way, Keselowski ran out of gas just before the green flag was waved. Busch was able to get closer to Logano, then pulled away on the restart and held off all challengers for the win.

Kyle Busch (nascar)

It was Busch’s 37th win in NASCAR’s second-tier series, putting him in sole possession of second place in the series’ career wins list. Only Mark Martin has more wins with 48.

The Toyota cars swept the top five spots as Logano finished second, followed by Brian Scott, David Reutimann and Jason Leffler.

Danica Patrick finished 24th, her first finish inside the top 30 in five Nationwide races in 2010. She was two laps behind the leaders at the finish.

This was the seventh Nationwide win of the season for Busch, who also won the Nationwide race at Chicagoland in 2008.

David Reutimann wins easily at Chicagoland Speedway

compiled from staff, wire and NASCAR reports

David Reutimann blew past Jeff Gordon and cruised to the win in the NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Chicagoland Speedway on Saturday night.

For the Michael Waltrip Racing team, for which Reutimann is a member, it was vindication for when he won a rain-shortened race at Charlotte in May of 2009. Several of his competitors felt he is not worthy of being in the series at all.

David Reutimann (nascar)

Carl Edwards made a charge late in the race but could not overtake Reutimann. He finished second.

Jeff Gordon was third, with Clint Bowyer and Jamie McMurray rounding out the top five.

Several Chase contenders had a very rough night.

Jimmie Johnson, who dominated the first half of the race, spun out and scraped the wall and finished 25th.

Kevin Harvick, the points leader struggled all day and had engine problems. He finished 34th.

Greg Biffle also had engine troubles and finished 35th.

The rest of the hard luck finishers with Chase aspirations include Kyle Busch finishing 17th, Dale Earnhardt Jr. 23rd and Kurt Busch 26th.

NASCAR RACE PREVIEW #20:Chicagoland Speedway, Joliet, Illinois on Saturday July 10, 2010


This week, the NASCAR Sprint Cup circuit will head to the Chicago suburb of the Blues Brothers, Elwood and Joliet Jake, Joliet, Illinois.

The race is the 400 and will air at 7:30 p.m. Saturday on TNT.

Chicagoland Speedway (file)

Chicagoland Speedway combines with banking and good grip to produce high speeds on a D-shaped asphalt 1.5-mile tri-oval. The distance is 400.5 miles which is broken down into 267 laps.

The 75,000 seat racetrack has a new Skyline Terrace, a corporate hospitality option with oversized spots.

In 2008, Kyle Busch became the first driver to win a Cup race at Chicagoland Speedway from the pole. Kevin Harvick won from the 32nd starting spot in 2002. Chicagoland became the 10th Sprint Cup track to have night racing. All three touring series events are run under the lights.

Recapping the 2009 400, Mark Martin dominated 195 of the 267 laps and pulled away from Jeff Gordon, Kasey Kahne, Tony Stewart and Denny Hamlin on a late-race restart. Jimmie Johnson (58) was the only other driver to lead more than 10 laps and finished eighth behind pole-sitter Brian Vickers.

Kevin Harvick (2000, 2001) and Tony Stewart (2004, 2007) are two-time winners at Chicagoland.

Jeff Gordon will make his 600th Cup start at Chicagoland Speedeway.

Kevin Harvick has a 210-point lead over Jeff Gordon with eight races left before the Cup Chase.

Fifth-place Denny Hamlin leads the series with 5 wins.


Jamie McMurray has won the pole position for Saturday night’s race at Chicagoland Speedway.

This is the third pole of the season and sixth of his career for McMurray, who won the Daytona 500 in February but has been struggling recently. McMurray turned a lap of 183.542 mph (295.382 kph) in his Chevrolet.

Jamie McMurray (Nascar)

He was followed by the Chevrolets of Jimmie Johnson and Tony Stewart. Greg Biffle qualified fourth in a Ford, followed by Sam Hornish Jr. in a Dodge.

The next NASCAR Sprint Cup race is the Brickyard 400, Sunday July 25 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Pippa Mann becomes first female pole winner

compiled from staff, wire and Indy Lights Series news

The Firestone Freedom 100 will have a unique look on Friday May 28.

Pippa Mann became the first female pole sitter in the eight-year history of the race and in the 101-year-old history of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Pippa Mann (IRL)

The native of Ipswich, England, driving the number 11 Sam Schmidt Motorsports car, also is the second female pole winner in Firestone Indy Lights history (Sarah McCune in 2005 at Chicagoland Speedway). She achieved a two-lap average speed of 187.989 mph (1 minute, 35.7505 seconds) on the 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the 40-lap race on May 28.

 Page 2 of 2 « 1  2