Your network for multiple sports and entertainment

High School Bounce

2015-2016 High School Bounce

High School Bounce marks its sixth season this year! Check back in the coming weeks for game schedules and times.

Click Here for Game

Click here for season schedule and archived games.

What We Cover

Today is

October 2019
« Sep    

Posts Tagged ‘Charlie Kimball.’

New Albany’s Rahal will drive for Target Chip Ganassi Racing

Graham Rahal (file photo)

Graham Rahal was introduced this week as one of two new drivers for Target Chip Ganassi Racing. 25-year-old Charlie Kimball was the other driver added to a team that also has 37-year-old Dario Franchitti and 30-year-old Scott Dixon. Rahal will drive the #38 car.

Rahal from New Albany, Ohio, is thrilled to have a full season contract because in 2010, he drove for four teams after losing his ride after three seasons with Newman-Haas Racing when sponsorship couldn’t be found. The talk around motorsport circles was that Paul Newman, the actor was the drawing card for sponsorship and when he passed away, the dollars suddenly dried up.

Despite sponsorship troubles in 2010, Rahal garnered seven top-10 finishes in 12 starts.

Rahal’s sponsorship for 2011 will be TBC Retail group, which is the owner of National Tire and Battery.

The 21-year-old Rahal, is the son of 1986 Indy 500 winner Bobby Rahal. Graham became the youngest pole-winner and race winner in series history in 2008 when he was driving for the McDonald’s sponsored car of Newman/Haas/Lanigan. In 2009, he finished seventh in the points standings with the same team.

By adding Kimball and Rahal, Target Ganassi will field the biggest and probably the best IndyCar team next season.

Franchitti, the husband of actress Ashley Judd, has won two Indy 500′s since 2007 and three of the last four IRL points titles, including the past two with Target Ganassi.

Dixon, won the Indianapolis 500 in 2008 and owns two points titles.

Ganassi is coming off his best season in 2010 as a team owner and arguably the best season of any American team owner has had, period! He won NASCAR’s Daytona 500 and the Indy 500, the first owner to ever achieve that distinctive double and then Franchitti rallied to win the IndyCar points title.

Info compiled from staff, IRL & Target Ganassi Racing

New Zealander Wade Cunningham wins third Freedom 100

compiled from staff, wire and IndyCar Series news

Wade Cunningham held off a late challenge from Charlie Kimball to win the Freedom 100 on Friday afternoon at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Cunningham and Kimball pulled away from the rest of the racing field and went toe-to-toe over the final moments of the 40-lap race, with Cunningham having enough fuel to win the event for the third time.

Wade Cunningham Indy Lights Series (IRL)

James Hinchcliffe was third, Dan Clarke fourth and Martin Plowman fifth.

Pippa Mann, who became the first woman to win the pole on Thursday, crashed on the second lap of the race after Jeff Simmons lost control and drove into her car. Both Mann and Simmons were uninjured.

Hinchcliffe wins Indy Lights race

compiled from staff, wire and IRL reports

James Hinchcliffe (indycar)

James Hinchcliffe led from start to finish to capture his first Indy Lights Series title in 18 career races.

Hinchcliffe, who is a Toronto native, earned the pole Saturday and stayed in front of  Charlie Kimball and rookie J.K. Vernay to earn the win in his second Indy Lights season.