Your network for multiple sports and entertainment

High School Bounce

2015-2016 High School Bounce

High School Bounce marks its sixth season this year! Check back in the coming weeks for game schedules and times.

Click Here for Game

Click here for season schedule and archived games.

What We Cover

Today is

May 2018
« Apr    

Ohio State offensive line coach Ed Warriner a Broyles Award nominee


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State co-offensive coordinator/offensive line
coach Ed Warinner is one of 29 nominees for the 2012 Broyles Award,
which honors the top assistant college football coach in America.

Warinner, from Strasburg, Ohio and a graduate of Mount Union, has
coached and developed the offensive line into what coach Urban Meyer
calls the “identity” of the team.

Comprised of left tackle Jack Mewhort, left guard Andrew Norwell, center
Corey Linsley, right guard Marcus Hall and right tackle Reid Fragel, the
offensive line has become a force that has the Buckeyes ranked ninth
nationally in rushing (245.5 ypg) and has improved its sacks allowed
ranking 30 places since last season with 22 fewer sacks.

Ed Warriner

The entire five-man unit was named the team’s offensive player of the
game following a 17-16 win at Michigan State to open the Big Ten season.
The next game it steamrolled Nebraska for 371 rushing yards and six

In addition to 245.5 rushing yards per game, the line has led the way
for a 30-year-high 36 rushing touchdowns so far (fifth-most nationally).
The team’s 5.3 yards per carry average is second-best all-time at Ohio
State. The Buckeyes have 10 100-yard rushing games so far this season
and, after having just 10 drives of 70-or-more yards in 2011, the team
has 27 so far in 2012.

Ohio State has a 1,200-yard rusher in Braxton Miller (19th nationally at
110.9 ypg) and Carlos Hyde, 40th nationally with 91.6 yards per game,
leads the Big Ten in scoring with 16 touchdowns and he needs 176 yards
to join Miller in the 1,000-yard club.

Warinner is in his 29th season as a collegiate coach and his 10th in a
coordinator position. He was a finalist in 2011 for the FootballScoop
Offensive Line Coach of the Year while coaching Notre Dame’s line and
serving as its run game coordinator. He capped a hugely successful
three-year run at Kansas – the Jayhawks averaged 445.5 total yards per
game and 35.3 points during that three-year period – in 2009 by being
named a finalist for the American Football Coaches Association’s
National Assistant Coach of the Year award. Four times he has coached on
teams that led the nation in rushing.

The five finalists for the 2012 Broyles Award will be announced Monday,
Nov. 26. The 2012 Broyles Award winner will be announced Tuesday, Dec. 4
at 11:30 a.m. at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock, Ark. The Broyles
Award is presented by The Rotary Club of Little Rock.

Leave a Reply