Your network for multiple sports and entertainment

High School Bounce

2019-2020 High School Bounce

Check back in the coming weeks for game schedules and times.

Click Here for Game

Click here for season schedule and archived games.

What We Cover

Today is

September 2020
« Aug    

Red Auerbach Award Finalists include Akron’s Keith Dambrot

Courtesy of Akron Athletic Communications

University of Akron head men’s basketball coach Keith Dambrot is among the five finalists for the Red Auerbach College Coach of the Year Award, the Jewish Coaches Association announced on Monday.

Dambrot is joined on the list by Brad Greenberg of Radford University, Seth Greenberg of Virginia Tech, Josh Pastner of Memphis and Bruce Pearl of Tennessee.

Keith Dambrot Akron (UA)

In 2009-10, Dambrot’s sixth at Akron, he led the Zips to a 24-10 record and their third straight appearance in a postseason tournament.  Akron also advanced itself to the MAC Tournament championship game for the fourth-consecutive year and posted its fifth-straight 20-win campaign. The Zips ended the regular season on March 17, with a 70-66 loss to Green Bay in the opening round of the College Basketball Invitational.

Dambrot was the runner-up for the Mid-American Conference Coach-of-the-Year Award, which went to Kent State’s Geno Ford.

The Red Auerbach Award is given annually to the nation’s top Jewish college coach, as voted on by the members of the Jewish Coaches Association. The winner will be honored at the Final Four in Indianapolis in April.

In 2010, the Jewish Coaches Association named its college coach of the year award after Red Auerbach, the basketball legend who won 938 games ( a record at the time of his retirement) and nine NBA championships as a coach. As a general manager and team president of the Boston Celtics, he won and additional seven NBA titles, for a total of 16 in a span of 29 years, making him one of the most successful coaches and front office officials in the history of professional sports.

Leave a Reply