Your network for multiple sports and entertainment

High School Bounce

2019-2020 High School Bounce

Check back in the coming weeks for game schedules and times.

Click Here for Game

Click here for season schedule and archived games.

What We Cover

Today is

September 2020
« Aug    

Mid-American Conference welcomes Robert Morris Women’s Lacrosse as an Affiliate Member


CLEVELAND, OH – The Mid-American Conference (MAC) announced earlier in the summer an agreement with Robert Morris University to become an affiliate member of the league for women’s lacrosse, beginning with the 2020-21 academic year.

With the addition of Robert Morris, the MAC will have six programs competing in women’s lacrosse. Three full membership institutions (Akron, Central Michigan & Kent State) will be joined by three affiliate members (Robert Morris, Detroit-Mercy & Youngstown State). The following year, Eastern Michigan will add women’s lacrosse to increase MAC membership to seven teams for the 2021-22 academic year.

“I am pleased to welcome Robert Morris University as an affiliate member in women’s lacrosse beginning with the 2020-21 season,” said MAC Commissioner Dr. Jon A. Steinbrecher.  “Robert Morris is a wonderful institution with a long history in the sport of women’s lacrosse. We look forward to its association with the Mid-American Conference.”

RMU first fielded an intercollegiate women’s lacrosse team in 2005, and the 2021 campaign will mark its 17th season as an NCAA Division I program. The Colonials have recorded an all-time record of 120-135 (.471), including a mark of 64-57 (.529) in the Northeast Conference. RMU advanced to the semifinals of the NEC Tournament six consecutive seasons from 2014 to 2019 as well as seven times in nine years before the global pandemic forced the cancellation of the 2020 season after six games.

“This is a historic day for our women’s lacrosse program,” said Robert Morris Vice President & Director of Athletics Chris King. “We are excited about becoming an affiliate member of the Mid-American Conference in its inaugural season in women’s lacrosse. The MAC has a long history of competing at a high level, with a well-respected membership both academically and athletically. We are most appreciative to the MAC and Commissioner Steinbrecher for the invitation to join such an esteemed group of universities.”

“We’re extremely excited to become an affiliate member of the Mid-American Conference,” said Robert Morris Head Coach Katrina Silva.“We’re looking forward to creating new rivalries within the league and continuing to grow the sport of women’s lacrosse. I’d like to thank Chris King and Commissioner Steinbrecher for this opportunity. We can’t wait to get started.”

Robert Morris University is a nationally ranked doctoral research university, enrolling approximately 4,600 undergraduate and graduate students in more than 90 undergraduate and graduate degree programs. RMU offers fully online courses as well as a traditional residential college experience at its campus on 230 scenic acres 17 miles from downtown Pittsburgh. The Colonials compete in 16 NCAA Division I sports, including ice hockey, basketball, football, volleyball and lacrosse.

Founded in 1946, the Mid-American Conference is an NCAA Division I, 12-member conference that sponsors 23 championships and is one of 10 members of the Football Bowl Subdivison (FBS). With total enrollment of nearly 300,000 students, the league represents institutions of higher learning in five states – Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, New York, and Ohio.

Current MAC schools and the year they joined are — East Division: University of Akron (1992), Bowling Green State University (1952), University at Buffalo (1998), Kent State University (1951), Miami University (1947), Ohio University (1946). West Division: Ball State University (1973), Central Michigan University (1971), Eastern Michigan University (1971), Northern Illinois University (1975-86, rejoined in 1997), University of Toledo (1950), Western Michigan University (1947). The conference office is based in Cleveland, Ohio.



Leave a Reply