Your network for multiple sports and entertainment

High School Bounce

2015-2016 High School Bounce

High School Bounce marks its sixth season this year! Check back in the coming weeks for game schedules and times.

Click Here for Game

Click here for season schedule and archived games.

What We Cover

Today is

October 2017
« Sep    

‘College Basketball’ Articles

Lincoln Riley begins new era for Oklahoma football with win over UTEP

Lincoln Riley (courtesy Oklahoma)

The Lincoln Riley era started with a bang last Saturday as the Oklahoma Sooners dealt UTEP a 56-7 shellacking in his debut as head coach of one of the top football program’s in the nation. He replaced long-time head coach Bob Stoops, who retired back in the spring.

The 34-year-old Texas native, who just celebrated his 34th birthday earlier this week on September 5, makes him the youngest head coach in FBS football.

That win over UTEP was witnessed by 86,076 fans at Gaylord Family-Oklahoma Memorial Stadium. OU’s 111th consecutive home sellout.

Eight Sooners accounted for the team’s eight touchdowns. OU scored the game’s final 49 points and its 56 points are the most in a head coaching debut. Riley is the Sooners’ 22nd head coach.

Eight true freshman saw action for the Sooners in the game, three on offense and five on defense.

Oklahoma threw for 496 yards, their fifth most since 2000, while holding UTEP to 94 yards passing. The 402-yard difference through the air ranks as the second largest in school history. In 2011 against Kansas State, OU outgained the Wildcats by 462 yards (520-58).

Defensively, the Sooners gave UTEP 167 yards of offense, 73 rushing and 94 passing. It’s fewest since allowing to Kansas State 110 total yards in a 55-0 rout October 17, 2015.



Northwestern’s game-winning Buzzer-Beater against Michigan a Top-Four Finalist for 2017 Espy Award


EVANSTON, Ill. – Northwestern’s buzzer-beating men’s basketball win over Michigan March 1 is one of four finalists for “Best Play” at the upcoming ESPYS.


The Wildcats’ dramatic game-winning play was one of 16 nominees for the award and has advanced through two rounds of voting to reach the finals.


With 1.7 seconds remaining in a tie game, Nathan Taphorn connected with Dererk Pardon on a length-of-the-court pass that Pardon finished with a layup to give Northwestern a thrilling 67-65 win. The victory all but clinched the school’s first NCAA tournament berth in program history.


The other three nominees are a catch by the New England Patriots’ Julian Edelman in the Super Bowl, a game-winning shot by South Carolina to defeat UConn in the Women’s Final Four and a pass from Aaron Rodgers to Jared Cook in the Green Bay Packers’ NFL playoff win over the Dallas Cowboys.


Fans can vote online for Northwestern to win the award at:


The ESPYS are being held July 12 in Los Angeles and are being broadcast by ABC at 7 p.m. Central.




Dayton Flyers announce Ryan Mikesell to redshirt 2017-18 season to rehab from surgeries

DAYTON - University of Dayton men’s basketball coach Anthony Grant has announced that junior forward Ryan Mikesell will redshirt the 2017-18 season as he rehabs from surgeries to correct impingement injuries to both of his hips.

“This is in the best interests of Ryan’s health, both short-term and long-term,” Grant said.  “By all accounts, Ryan’s two surgeries were a success.  But after a follow-up visit with his physician, it is clear that the proper course of action is to redshirt this season to allow him to fully recover.”

Ryan Mikesell

“I’d rather be on the court, so in that sense this is kind of a disappointment,” Mikesell said.  “But it’s also a relief to know that the surgeries were successful and that we have a plan for me to be at my best when I do return.  I just have to do what the doctors and Mike (UD trainer Mike Mulcahey) tell me to do.”

“Typical rehab for these procedures is six months,” Mulcahey said.  “But it’s not just a matter of Ryan being cleared medically and simply getting back on the court.  As he recovers, he will need to retrain his body in the best ways to move with his increased strength and range of motion.  Big picture, it’s not something that can be rushed and certainly not something to take shortcuts on.”

As a sophomore, Mikesell was one of only four Flyers to see action in all 32 games.  He started 24 and averaged 5.7 points, 3.9 rebounds and 20.8 minutes a game.

Dayton was 24-8 overall, and Atlantic 10 Conference regular season champions with a 15-3 league record last season.  The Flyers reached the NCAA tournament for the fourth consecutive year and set a UD Arena attendance record, averaging 13,108 fans per game.  The Flyers’ 2017-18 roster includes eight players who are listed as 6-foot-7 or taller (including Mikesell).



Columbus Local Organizing Committee launches #FourUs Campaign for 2018 Women’s Final Four


COLUMBUS – The Columbus Local Organizing Committee (CLOC) for the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four, including representatives from The Ohio State University Department of Athletics, the Greater Columbus Sports Commission (GCSC) and Nationwide Arena, will tip off its community campaign,#FourUS.

#FourUS will provide opportunities for residents to share their pride in showing what makes ColumbUS the best place to visit and host sporting events. A special #FourUS video can be seen at and will be shown on the Huntington Park scoreboard right before the first pitch. In addition, game attendees will be able to stop by a fan interaction station on the concourse to get more information about how they can be involved in the Women’s Final Four.


Fans interested in volunteering for the Women’s Final Four can sign up at  Additionally, all-session and single-session Women’s Final Four tickets are now on sale and can be purchased  The Women’s Final Four website will also house the official Women’s Final Four schedule of events, which will be updated as events are finalized.


The #FourUS campaign is another milestone in the “Road to Columbus.” After unveiling the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four logo in February, Ohio State announced it would host a premiere women’s basketball tipoff event on November 12.  The Countdown to Columbus will feature OSU vs. UConn and Louisville vs. Stanford at Nationwide Arena.


Fans wishing to attend the Countdown to Columbus can purchase tickets through the OSU Ticket Sales Team at 1-800-GOBUCKS.


Columbus and Ohio State will host the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four for the first time at Nationwide Arena on March 30 and April 1. The Women’s Final Four will generate an anticipated 11,000 hotel room nights and an estimated $20 million in direct visitor spending for Central Ohio, with the semifinals and national championship games attracting more than 40,000 fans, including 30,000 from outside the region. All three games will be televised nationally on ESPN.


PRESS RELEASE WRITTEN BY Bruce Wimbish | GCSC, Gary Petit | Ohio State Athletics, Gary O’Brien | Nationwide Arena, Rick Nixon | National Collegiate Athletic Association; COURTESY GREATER COLUMBUS SPORTS COMMISSION, OHIO STATE, NATIONWIDE ARENA & THE NCAA

Butler Vice President/Director of Athletics Barry Collier issues statement on Chris Holtmann

On Chris Holtmann being named head coach at Ohio State University…

“Chris is a tremendous basketball coach, but more importantly, he is a great man who has led our program well and embodied The Butler Way during his time with us. On behalf of everyone at Butler, we wish him, Lori, and Nora continued success as they make this transition. Our basketball program is among the nation’s best and Butler University is committed to maintaining our competitive success on a national level, while also recruiting young men who will represent our institution well in the classroom and in the community. We will work efficiently to identify our next head coach.”

Barry Collier (courtesy Butler Athletics)



 Page 1 of 189  1  2  3  4  5 » ...  Last »