Your network for multiple sports and entertainment

High School Bounce

2019-2020 High School Bounce

Check back in the coming weeks for game schedules and times.

Click Here for Game

Click here for season schedule and archived games.

What We Cover

Today is

April 2020
« Mar    

‘Various Sports’ Articles

Arkansas Razorbacks giving back to the Community



FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – More than $311,000 has been designated by season and single game ticket holders to help support Razorback student-athletes, as well as gameday and hourly employees adversely impacted by Razorback event cancellations related to the coronavirus (COVID-19).

Nearly 31 percent of all ticket accounts elected to designate all or a portion of their eligible ticket refunds from the remainder of the 2019-20 athletics season.

“We are deeply appreciative of our Razorback Foundation members and ticket holders for providing continued support of our 465+ student-athletes and assisting those impacted by COVID-19,” Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Hunter Yurachek said. “In these challenging times, the Razorback Nation has once again displayed its generosity and commitment to helping others. In the days and months to come, we will continue to support each other as we move forward as One Razorback.”

More than half of the ticket accounts chose to donate to the COVID-19 impact fund. Total donations to that fund exceeded $130,000. In addition, approximately $164,000 was applied by account holders to the 2020-21 Razorback Foundation Annual Fund. A total of $16,000 was donated to support construction of the J.B. and Johnelle Hunt Family Baseball Development Center. || On Twitter @ArkRazorbacks ||





Hobey Baker announcement this Saturday, April 11

April 9, 2020
St. Paul, Minn.
The 2020 Hobey Baker Memorial Award announcement, along with several other national college hockey award announcements, will be carried live on ESPN’s SportsCenter this Saturday, April 11 at 11pm ET (10pm CT). Veteran sports anchor and college hockey aficionado John Buccigross will host the annual award announcements.
Unfortunately, the coronavirus pandemic caused the cancelation of the college hockey season on March 12 just as playoffs had begun. Consequently, the NCAA Frozen Four national championship tournament scheduled for this weekend in Detroit will not happen. “The Hobey Baker committee was determined to find an appropriate forum to honor the tremendous individual accomplishments of some great student athletes from this past season. ESPN and John Buccigross have provided a live platform and working with our college hockey partners, we’re able to conclude the college season with some positive news,” said Hobey Baker Foundation President Wally Olson.
During SportsCenter on Saturday, the following national award announcements will be made:
Hobey Baker Award – honoring college hockey’s top player
Hockey Humanitarian Award – honoring college hockey’s top citizen athlete
Mike Richter Award – honoring college hockey’s top goaltender
All-American Teams – First and Second Teams from the East and West
Tim Taylor National Rookie of the Year
Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award
The 2020 Hobey Baker Award winner, along with this year’s Hobey Baker Legend of College Hockey, Rick Comley, will be honored at an upcoming banquet and golf tournament. These events are scheduled for June 17/18, but the Hobey Baker committee is looking into potentially moving them to an August date due to COVID-19 concerns. Additional information will be forthcoming.

McDaniel freshman Alexander LaVeck named NWCA Scholar All-American


Alexander LaVeck

MANHEIM, Pa. – Alexander LaVeck (Marriottsville, Md./McDonogh), a freshman on the McDaniel wrestling team, has been named a Scholar All-American by the National Wrestling Coaches Association, announced recently.

LaVeck was one of 281 Division III wrestlers over 80 institutions to earn the honor, which goes to individuals who have a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.2.

A physics major, LaVeck was the runner-up at 157 at the Centennial Conference championship and eighth at the NCAA Div. III Southeast Regional. He finished the season with a 24-15 record and 12 pins.




Iowa’s Kathleen Doyle honored by WBCA


Named to WBCA All-Region Team


IOWA CITY, Iowa – University of Iowa senior Kathleen Doyle has been named a WBCA All-Region honoree, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced Wednesday.
The WBCA selection committee will select the 10-member WBCA Division I Coaches’ All-America team from the list of 52 All-Region honorees.

It is the first WBCA All-Region selection of Gustafson’s career. The All-American is the 15th Hawkeye in program history to earn WBCA All-Region honors.

Kathleen Doyle (courtesy Iowa Athletics)

Doyle, a native of LaGrange Park, Illinois, finished the season ranking in the top-50 nationally in five statistical categories, including sixth in the nation in total assists (189), seventh in assists per game (6.3), 19th in free throws made (147), 37th in total points (544), and 49th in points per game (18.1).




NCAA Ruling on extending Eligibility of Spring Sports Student-Athletes effected by COVID-19

March 30, 2020 6:50pm

Schools can authorize an additional season of competition and an extension of their period of eligibility


The Division I Council on Monday voted to allow schools to provide spring-sport student-athletes an additional season of competition and an extension of their period of eligibility.

Members also adjusted financial aid rules to allow teams to carry more members on scholarship to account for incoming recruits and student-athletes who had been in their last year of eligibility who decide to stay. In a nod to the financial uncertainty faced by higher education, the Council vote also provided schools with the flexibility to give students the opportunity to return for 2020-21 without requiring that athletics aid be provided at the same level awarded for 2019-20. This flexibility applies only to student-athletes who would have exhausted eligibility in 2019-20.

Schools also will have the ability to use the NCAA’s Student Assistance Fund to pay for scholarships for students who take advantage of the additional eligibility flexibility in 2020-21.

Division I rules limit student-athletes to four seasons of competition in a five-year period. The Council’s decision allows schools to self-apply waivers to restore one of those seasons of competition for student-athletes who had competed while eligible in the COVID-19-shortened 2020 spring season

The Council also will allow schools to self-apply a one-year extension of eligibility for spring-sport student-athletes, effectively extending each student’s five-year “clock” by a year. This decision was especially important for student-athletes who had reached the end of their five-year clock in 2020 and saw their seasons end abruptly.

“The Council’s decision gives individual schools the flexibility to make decisions at a campus level,” said Council chair M. Grace Calhoun, athletics director at Penn. “The Board of Governors encouraged conferences and schools to take action in the best interest of student-athletes and their communities, and now schools have the opportunity to do that.”

Winter sports were not included in the decision. Council members declined to extend eligibility for student-athletes in sports where all or much of their regular seasons were completed.

The Council also increased the roster limit in baseball for student-athletes impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, the only spring sport with such a limit.


PRESS RELEASE WRITTEN BY Michelle Brutlag Hosick, Associate Director of Communications; COURTESY NCAA



 Page 1 of 1,335  1  2  3  4  5 » ...  Last »