Your network for multiple sports and entertainment

High School Bounce

2015-2016 High School Bounce

High School Bounce marks its sixth season this year! Check back in the coming weeks for game schedules and times.

Click Here for Game

Click here for season schedule and archived games.

What We Cover

Today is

September 2019
« Aug    

‘Motor Sports’ Articles

NASCAR Race #6 Martinsville Speedway this week, March 28

compiled by staff

This weekend, the NASCAR Sprint Cup moves to the “Paper Clip” race track, known as Martinsville Speedway in Martinsville/Ridgeway, Virginia. The track is NASCAR-owned and operated. It’s located not far from Bristol,  and Roanoke/Danville, Virginia.

This week is the Goody’s Fast Pain Relief 500 on Fox-TV at 1 p.m. It is a 500 laps or 263 mile race.

Martinsville Speedway (Creative Commons/wfe photo)

Martinsville Speedway has several characteristics with wrecks being very common at the series’ shortest and oldest-track, built in 1947. Passing can be very difficult on the paper-clip-shaped surface, which is a bumpy combination of concrete and asphalt. Long straightaways tied to flat, narrow corners make for hard braking in the turns. It is the lone short track in the 10-race title run. It’s also the only remaining track that hosted the Strictly Stock Series which was the forerunner of the ( Sprint Cup) in 1949.

In 2009, during the Goody’s Fast Pain Relief 500, Jimmie Johnson bumped, banged and held off Denny Hamlin during the final 16 laps to get his first win of the season. Hamlin led a race-high 296 laps. Tony Stewart finished third and Jeff Gordon, who led 147 of the 500 laps, was fourth.

NASCAR will start using spoilers at Martinsville Speedway

compiled from staff, wire and NASCAR information

NASCAR will officially move from the wing to the more traditional spoiler at the March 28 race at Martinsville Speedway.

NASCAR vice president of competition Robin Pemberton says the spoiler will be used for the first time this weekend.

Robin Pemberton (NASCAR)

NASCAR decided in January that it would return the spoiler to its race cars, a decision that was based on improving the racing and to pleasr the fans who were displeased with the look of the wing, which first appeared in 2007.

Pemberton also said that the spoiler will replicate the downforce and balance that are being produced by the current car.

Jimmie Johnson finally wins at Bristol Motor Speedway

compiled from staff and wire reports

Bristol Motor Speedway in Tennessee is called the “Bullring” because of its throwback-style of racing. A majority of the drivers in NASCAR like the old track with the exception of Jimmie Johnson.

Jimmie Johnson up until Sunday had never won there and never said it was his favorite tracks.

The four-time defending NASCAR champion can now add Bristol to his “wins” list as he worked his way from sixth to first place in just three laps to win for the 50th victory in his career.

Johnson became only the 12th driver in NASCAR history to win 50 races. He reached the milestone in his 296th start, and there are only three drivers who accomplished this faster: Jeff Gordon (232), Darrell Waltrip (278) and David Pearson (293).

Jimmie Johnson (NASCAR)

With 10 laps to go, Johnson was trying to figure out a way to catch Kurt Busch. Busch led 278 of the 500 laps and had a nice lead on Johnson when a debris caution came out with 17 laps to go. All leaders in the race headed to pit road, and Busch and Johnson took four tires on the final stop.

Greg Biffle, Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth and Tony Stewart all took two tires, giving them the first four positions on the race restart. Busch was fifth and Johnson was sixth with the race resuming with 10 laps tos go. Johnson started to move to the top as he moved past Tony Stewart at the end. Kurt Busch finished 3rd.

Bristol Pole goes to Joey Logano his first career pole

compiled from staff and wire reports

Joey Logano with some fast times in practice Friday, has captured the first pole of his career at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Logano posted a lap at 124.630 mph in his Toyota to earn the first starting spot for Sunday’s race. His previous best qualifying was fifth at Darlington last season.

Joey Logano NASCAR (JGR)

Kurt Busch, winner of the last NASCAR race March 7 in Atlanta, qualified second with a lap at 123.857 in his Dodge. Busch credits his fast start in 2010 to his new crew chief Steve Addington, who helped lead his brother, Kyle Busch to a pair of wins at Bristol last year. Kurt Busch is a five-time winner at Bristol, but hasn’t been to Victory Lane at the Tennessee track since 2006.

Dave Blaney, who qualified fourth at Bristol in August 2009, has moved up to third this year at 123.849.

Says Logano, “I’ve always been fast here and I’ve done everything but have an uneventful race.”

Week 5 for NASCAR: Bristol Motor Speedway on March 21

Bristol Town Sign (wfe)

After a week off, the NASCAR circuit is ready get back on the track.

This week, the site is Bristol Motor Speedway in Bristol, Tennessee. Located in Sullivan County and directly across the stateline  from its twin city of  Bristol, Virginia has a population of 24,821.

It is the birthplace of  singer and actor Tennessee Ernie Ford. It’s recognized as the birthplace of country music by Congress in 1998. Also, known as the best known site of first commercial recordings of country music of Jimmie Rodgers, the Carter Family and Uncle Charlie Osborn.

This week’s race is the Food City 500 and will be broadcast by Fox-TV. Leading up to the race, Sprint Cup qualifying will begin on March 19 and the Nationwide Scotts Turf Builder 300 will began on March 20.

Seating 160,00 fans, Bristol has sold out 55 consecutive Cup races since 1982, the longest streak currently in NASCAR.

Known as “Thunder Valley”, this concrete track with the tall grandstands was resurfaced in 2007. Banking now is transitional, going down 26 degrees at the bottom of the turns to 30 degrees at the top. On the straightaways, it goes 5 to 8 degrees.

Bristol Motor Speedway (bms)

Kyle Busch dominated the 2009 Food City 500, leading 378 of the 503 laps, and held off Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Denny Hamlin for the win. Jimmie Johnson led 88 laps and finished third; Jeff Gordon, Kasey Kahne and pole-sitter Mark Martin were next across the line.

 Page 532 of 534  « First  ... « 530  531  532  533  534 »