Big Ten Conference News: Announces 2022 Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference office announced its annual Postgraduate Scholarship recipients on Thursday, as two student-athletes from each of the 14 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were each awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based primarily on academic achievements.

This year’s recipients, who represent 17 different sports, will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines including agribusiness; agricultural engineering; animal science; biobehavioral health; biochemistry; biomedical engineering; English; exercise science; family science; finance; kinesiology; mechanical engineering; microbial biology; neuroscience; public health; social work; Spanish; and speech and hearing science.

Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarships. Students must have maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program. The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student’s postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.

The complete list of 2022 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below.

Blake Hayes, Football
Shaylah Scott, Women’s Gymnastics

Cooper Williams, Men’s Track & Field
Grayson Radcliffe, Softball

Matt Fagan, Football
Tomi Taiwo, Women’s Basketball

Justin Gielen, Men’s Soccer
Leksana Andrews, Women’s Gymnastics

Drew Mattin, Wrestling
Lillian Mei, Women’s Rowing

Michigan State
Carson Gates, Men’s Tennis
Melanie Helder, Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field

Alec Basten, Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field
Abby Kohut-Jackson, Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field

Mark Freyhof, Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field
Emily Cheramie, Rifle

Sam Gerak, Football
Labonita Ghose, Women’s Swimming & Diving

Ohio State
Andrew Brower, Men’s Gymnastics
Amanda Palutsis, Women’s Swimming & Diving

Penn State
Keegan Ness, Men’s Soccer
Claire Swedberg, Softball

Jackson Smeltz, Baseball
Emma Terwilliger, Women’s Volleyball

Zackary Franckowiak, Men’s Lacrosse
Belle Huang, Women’s Gymnastics

Dan Ufearo, Men’s Track & Field
Tessa Cockerill, Women’s Rowing


NWSL Weekend Matches
4 weeks ago
Toronto FC II News
1 month ago
Columbus Crew 2 News
2 months ago
Columbus Eagles News
2 months ago
Toronto Blue Jays News
2 months ago
Cincinnati Reds News
3 months ago
Colorado Rockies News
3 months ago
Columbus Crew 2 Feature: Head coach Laurent Courtois